This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > college

Duke's Michael Videira named Hermann Trophy semifinalist

Posted Wednesday, November 16, 2005

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Durham, NC - Duke's Michael Videira was selected as one of 15 semifinalists for the Hermann Trophy in an announcement made by the Missouri Athletic Club on Wednesday. The Hermann Trophy is given annually to the top player in the country.

Videira, a sophomore midfielder from Milford, Mass., was one of two Blue Devils named to the Hermann Trophy watch list at the start of the season. He was a first team All-ACC selection this year. He is second on the team with eight assists and has tallied three goals to rank him tied for fifth with 14 points. Earlier this season he registered a point in seven straight games from Sept. 18 - Oct. 7. Included in that streak was five straight games with an assist. He started in 18 of 19 games for Duke and ranks third on the squad with 1,475 minutes played.

The reigning National and ACC Freshman of the Year, Videira is one of just two sophomores on the list of semifinalists. Marvell Wynne, a defender from UCLA, is the other after leading the nation’s top-ranked defense. The rest of the list is comprised of one graduate student, five seniors and seven juniors. Videira joins Jason Garey, Aaron King and Justin Moose as the four representatives from the ACC. Indiana and UCLA are the only schools with multiple players on the list. The Hoosiers have three candidates while the Bruins have two.

Duke has five winners of the prestigious award that has been presented since 1967. Joe Ulrich was the first in 1982 and Mike Jeffries won it in 1983. The Blue Devils had back-to-back winners in 1985 and 1986 when Tom Kain and John Kerr took home the honors. Kerr led Duke to its lone National Championship in the 1986 season. Ali Curtis was the most recent recipient, winning the award in 2000.

Videira and the Blue Devils will try to make their second straight run to final four on Tuesday at 7 p.m. when they host the winner of the match between Creighton and Lafayette. Duke is the sixth seed in the NCAA Tournament and receives a bye in the first round.

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page