This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > basketball

Carrboro defeats Northwood to win conference championship

Posted Saturday, February 23, 2013

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Pittsboro, NC - Carrboro held off host Northwood 63-55 for the Jaguars’ second straight Carolina 12 Tournament title. James Scott led the Jaguars with 15 points, while Marlin Johnson added 14 and Trai Sharp finished with 12. Aumad Walker scored a game-high 26 points, including four 3-pointers for the Chargers. Pinnix scored 11 points and had four assists. Elijah Washington had 10 points and eight rebounds.

Despite a fast start by Carrboro, which gave the Jaguars a 15-9 lead after the first quarter. The Chargers took advantage of some Carrboro foul trouble to build a 27-18 lead as Walker scored 16 points in the half. The Jaguars held Northwood scoreless over the final 3:43 and got back to within three points at 27-24 at halftime.

Walker gave the Chargers a 48-46 lead going into the final eight minutes. But Northwood’s lead wouldn’t last due to four straight turnovers to start the fourth. A Walker three-pointer brought the Chargers to within a 55-53 as the clock hit under four minutes. Carrboro got the next five points though and Northwood didn't get within a chance to tie or lead again.

Carrboro completed the conference regular-season and tournament without a loss. Northwood finished the season with four straight wins before falling to the Jaguars.

After years of futility against the Chargers, Carrboro (22-3) has won four straight over Northwood (16-10).

Northwood, as the No. 2 seed out of the 2A Carolina 12, will be in the NCHSAA 2A State Tournament which starts Monday night.

Carrboro 63, Northwood 55
NORTHWOOD — Aumad Walker 26, Ti Pinnix 11, Kadarus Rone 6, Elijah Washington 8, Chaz Bailey 2, Jared Worley 2.
CARRBORO — McLean Phipps 9, Matt MacKinnon 8, Trai Sharp 12, Marlin Johnson 14, James Scott 15, Jack Nanney 2, Malik Carrington 2, Alex McVeigh 1.


3-Point FG—Northwood 4 (Walker 4). Carrboro 4 (MacKinnon 2, Sharp 2).
Records—Northwood 16-10, Carrboro 22-3.

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
Carrboro defeats Northwood to win conference championship
photos by Gene Galin