This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > basketball

2007 All-ACC Women's Basketball teams

Posted Tuesday, February 27, 2007

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Greensboro, NC - Voting results for the 2007 All-ACC women's basketball teams were announced Monday by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

The Carolina Tar Heels and the Duke Blue Devils had two players each on the 2007 All-ACC women's basketball first team. The Terrapins had one player make the team. Duke seniors Lindsey Harding and Alison Bales joined repeat first-teamers Ivory Latta and Erlana Larkins of North Carolina. Crystal Langhorne of defending national champion Maryland rounded out the top five.

Duke's Harding was a second-team pick last season. She made this season's first team on 53 ballots. Her teammate, Bales, the league's leading shot blocker, is a first-time all-conference winner. They are essential parts of the first team in Duke and ACC history to finish a regular season undefeated. Top-ranked Duke (29-0) is the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament which begins Thursday in Greensboro.

UNC's Ivory Latta, whose scoring average of 16.1 points was best on the first team, became the eighth player in league history picked for three all-ACC first teams. She was a first-team selection on 52 ballots. She was joined by teammate, Erlana Larkins, who was second in the ACC in rebounding.

ACC's first team Maryland's Langhorne led the ACC by making 72.5 percent of her shots.

Duke's Abby Waner, North Carolina's Camille Little and Maryland's Marissa Coleman, Virginia's Lyndra Littles and Miami's Renee Taylor, the conference's leading scorer, made the second team.

Maryland guard Kristi Toliver joined Florida State's Alicia Gladden, North Carolina State's Khadijah Whittington, Boston College's Kathrin Ress and Georgia Tech's Stephanie Higgs on the third team.

The All-Atlantic Coast Conference women's teams, as voted on by 55 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association:

First Team (votes)
Lindsey Harding, Duke (163)
Ivory Latta, North Carolina (162)
Crystal Langhorne, Maryland (157)
Alison Bales, Duke (125)
Erlana Larkins, North Carolina (125)

Second Team
Abby Waner, Duke (104)
Camille Little, North Carolina (89)
Lyndra Littles, Virginia (83)
Renee Taylor, Miami (78)
Marissa Coleman, Maryland (73)

Third Team
Alicia Gladden, Florida State (65)
Khadijah Whittington, NC State (65)
Kathrin Ress, Boston College (57)
Stephanie Higgs, Georgia Tech (51)
Kristi Toliver, Maryland (50)

Honorable Mention (15 or more votes)
Kirby Copeland, Virginia Tech (33)
Janie Mitchell, Georgia Tech (21)
Wanisha Smith, Duke (19)
Gillian Goring, NC State (17)
Yolanda Lavender, Wake Forest (17)

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page