This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > baseball

Seven ACC schools make the 2007 NCAA Baseball Tournament

Posted Wednesday, May 30, 2007

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

North Carolina, Florida State receive Nos. 3 and 6 overall national seeds, respectively.

Greensboro, NC - The Atlantic Coast Conference tied the league record for the second year in a row and third all-time, as seven teams will be heading to the 2007 NCAA Baseball Tournament announced Monday afternoon. ACC champion North Carolina and Florida State were one of eight schools from the 64-team field to earn a national seed with the Tar Heels tabbed No. 3 and the Seminoles at No. 6.

In addition, the ACC led all conferences this year with the most representatives in the NCAA Tournament. The Big 12 was second with six selections, followed by the Southeastern Conference's five nods. The Big West, Conference USA and Pacific-10 placed four teams each.

Six of the seven ACC teams competing in the national postseason event last year are back in 2007, as Clemson, Florida State, Miami, North Carolina, NC State and Virginia will be vying for a spot in the College World Series in Omaha, Neb. Wake Forest completes the ACC contingent, as the Demon Deacons earned an at-large berth to return to the national tournament for the first time since 2003.

On Sunday, it was announced by the NCAA that Florida State, North Carolina and Virginia were selected one of 16 schools to host a four-team regional beginning Friday, June 1 through Monday, June 4. Each of the 16 regionals will play a double-elimination format.

Florida State was selected as an NCAA host for the 25th time in school history. The Seminoles, who are making their 16th consecutive NCAA appearance and 45th all-time, will play the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) champion Bethune-Cookman Wildcats. Rounding out the field in Tallahassee, Fla., will be at-large representatives Mississippi State (SEC) and Stetson (Atlantic Sun).

Hosting an NCAA Regional for the second year in a row and the third time in school history, the No. 2 national seed North Carolina Tar Heels will be facing Atlantic Sun champion Jacksonville. UNC, which captured the ACC Baseball Championship crown for the first time since 1990, will be playing in the national postseason tournament for the sixth straight year and 22nd all-time. Also competing in Chapel Hill, N.C., will be at-large recipients East Carolina and Western Carolina.

For the third time in four years, Virginia will entertain three other teams as the Cavaliers are set to face the Patriot League champion Lafayette College. It marks the fourth straight year and seventh all-time showing for the Cavs in the NCAA. The Charlottesville, Va., Regional will be a difficult one as Big East champion Rutgers and defending national champion Oregon State are also among the field.

Four ACC teams will hit the road to begin NCAA action, as Clemson, Miami and NC State landed the No. 2 seed in their respective regional. The Demon Deacons of Wake Forest picked up a No. 3 seed in the Austin, Texas, Regional and will square off against UC Irvine of the Big West Conference.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced Monday, June 4, on, at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

The 61st College World Series begins play Friday, June 15, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb.

NCAA Regional Match-ups
Friday-Monday, June 1-4, 2007

at Austin, Texas
#1 Texas (44-15 - Big 12 At-Large) vs. #4 Brown (27-19 - Ivy League Automatic)
#2 UC Irvine (40-15-1 - Big West At-Large) vs. #3 Wake Forest (33-27 - ACC At-Large)

at Charlottesville, Va.
#1 Virginia (43-14 - ACC At-Large) vs. #4 Lafayette (33-18 - Patriot League Automatic)
#2 Rutgers (41-19 - Big East Automatic) vs. #3 Oregon State (38-17 - Pac-10 At-Large)

at Chapel Hill, N.C.
#1 North Carolina (48-12 - ACC Automatic) vs. #4 Jacksonville (34-26 - Atlantic Sun Automatic)
#2 East Carolina (39-21 - Conference USA At-Large) vs. #3 Western Carolina (40-18 - Southern At-Large)

at Columbia, Mo.
#1 Missouri (40-16 - Big 12 At-Large) vs. #4 Kent State (33-24 - Mid-American Automatic)
#2 Miami (36-22 - ACC At-Large) vs. #3 Louisville (40-20 - Big East At-Large)

at Columbia, S.C.
#1 South Carolina (42-18 - SEC At-Large) vs. #4 Wofford (30-31 - Southern Automatic)
#2 NC State (37-21 - ACC At-Large) vs. #3 Charlotte (47-10 - Atlantic 10 Automatic)

at Myrtle Beach, S.C.
#1 Coastal Carolina (48-11 - Big South Automatic) vs. #4 VCU (37-21 - Colonial Athletic Automatic)
#2 Clemson (38-21 - ACC At-Large) vs. #3 St. John's (NY) (40-17 - Big East At-Large)

at Tallahassee, Fla.
#1 Florida State (47-11 - ACC At-Large) vs. #4 Bethune-Cookman (33-25 - Mid-Eastern Athletic Automatic)
#2 Mississippi State (33-20 - SEC At-Large) vs. #3 Stetson (41-19 - Atlantic Sun At-Large)

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page