This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > columns

64 known JournoListas

Posted Saturday, July 24, 2010

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Washington, DC - JournoList was a private Google Groups forum for discussing politics and the news media with 400 journalists, academics and others, most with left of center political views. Ezra Klein, an American blogger for the Washington Post and a columnist for Newsweek, created the online forum in February 2007 and shut it down in June 2010. He controlled the forum's membership and limited it to "several hundred left-leaning bloggers, political reporters, magazine writers, policy wonks and academics".

On June 25, 2010, The Daily Caller published private e-mails from Weigel denigrating conservatives, who he covered for the paper. That same day, Weigel resigned from the Post, and JournoList — the listserv that hosted Weigel's disparaging e-mails — was deleted by Klein. Weigel's resignation caused Klein to decide to terminate the discussion group. On June 25, 2010, Klein announced in his Washington Post blog that he would shortly terminate the JournoList group.

On June 29, commentator and Web publisher Andrew Breitbart offered a $100,000 reward to anyone who could provide him with the "full 'JournoList' archive, source fully protected". Brietbart wrote, "Ezra Klein’s 'JournoList 400' is the epitome of progressive and liberal collusion that conservatives, Tea Partiers, moderates and many independents have long suspected and feared exists at the heart of contemporary American political journalism".[11]

A Free Republic poster compiled this list of known members of the Journolist. The following 64 names are confirmed members of the now-defunct JournoList listserv.

1. Ezra Klein
2. Dave Weigel
3. Matthew Yglesias
4. David Dayen
5. Spencer Ackerman
6. Jeffrey Toobin
7. Eric Alterman
8. Paul Krugman
9. John Judis
10. Eve Fairbanks
11. Mike Allen
12. Ben Smith
13. Lisa Lerer
14. Joe Klein
15. Brad DeLong
16. Chris Hayes
17. Matt Duss
18. Jonathan Chait
19. Jesse Singal
20. Michael Cohen
21. Isaac Chotiner
22. Katha Pollitt
23. Alyssa Rosenberg
24. Rick Perlstein
25. Alex Rossmiller
26. Ed Kilgore
27. Walter Shapiro
28. Noam Scheiber
29. Michael Tomasky
30. Rich Yesels
31. Tim Fernholz
32. Dana Goldstein
33. Jonathan Cohn
34. Scott Winship
35. David Roberts
36. Luke Mitchell
37. John Blevins
38. Moira Whelan
39. Henry Farrell
40. Josh Bearman
41. Alec McGillis
42. Greg Anrig
43. Adele Stan
44. Steven Teles
45. Harold Pollack
46. Adam Serwer
47. Ryan Donmoyer
48. Seth Michaels
49. Kate Steadman
50. Laura Rozen
51. Jesse Taylor
52. Michael Hirsh
53. Daniel Davies
54. Jonathan Zasloff
55. Richard Kim
56. Thomas Schaller
57. Jared Bernstein
58. Holly Yeager
59. Joe Conason
60. David Greenberg
61. Todd Gitlin
62. Mark Schmitt
63. Kevin Drum
64. Sarah Spitz

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
64 known JournoListas