This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > high school

Northwood Football Jamboree

By Eric Andrews
Posted Friday, August 12, 2005

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Pittsboro, NC - It may still be hot outside but it is time to start thinking about fall’s greatest pastime - FOOTBALL!

Northwood High School plays host to half a dozen teams, on Friday, August 12, 2005, 6:00 p.m., for a pad-poppin' Jamboree. It is a controlled scrimmage with each team having a set number of plays on offense and defense. There will be no "official" score, but rest assured the players will be keeping tabs on which teams enter the endzone most often, and who gets the most notches on their belts for radical hits. It will be the very first time this year they get to beat on someone who is not on their team.

Head football coach Bill Hall is excited about this year's team. "We are fortunate. We are loaded with Seniors and guys that have had real experience on the field. We have decent speed and size, but as usual a lot of our guys have come in out of shape. I have a coaching staff that will get these guys in shape." (More on this in our upcoming Pigskin Preview issue)

Northwood has invited North Moore, Union Pines, SE Guilford, Durham Jor-dan, Overhills, and Fairmont. Please come out and support the locals.

2005 NORTHWOOD FOOTBALL SCHEDULE
Fri. Aug. 12 Jamboree Home 6:00
Fri. Aug 19 Union Pines Home 7:30
Fri. Aug 26 Western Harnett Away7:30
Fri. Sep 2 Jordan Matthews Away7:30
Fri. Sept 9 Lee Sr. Home 7:30
Fri. Sept 16 OPEN
Fri. Sept 23 Ravenscroft Home 7:30
Fri. Sept 30 Randleman Away 7:30
Fri. Oct 7 Graham Home 7:30
Fri. Oct 14 Cummings Home 7:30
Fri. Oct 21 Orange Away 7:30
Fri. Oct 28 Cedar Ridge (HC) Home 7:30
Fri. Nov 4 Cardinal Gibbons Away 7:30

Head Coach: Bill Hall

Assistant Coaches: Brian Harrington, Eric Andrews, Adrian Scurlock, Curt Farrell, Frank Jurius, Rick Parks, Rod Elkins, Jamey Davidson, Joe Kiertekles

 
e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
 
 
 
Northwood Football Jamboree
Northwood head football coach Bill Hall.
photo by Gene Galin
Latest articles in High School
 
Register for the Northwood softball clinic
 
 
 
 
Sports

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your brand at chathamjournal.com


Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site