This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > football

WFU Demon Deacons report for practice

Posted Wednesday, August 3, 2005

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Grobe begins fifth season

Winston-Salem, NC - Wake Forest head football coach Jim Grobe welcomed his fifth Wake Forest football team to campus on Wednesday. The Demon Deacons begin preseason with a two-hour practice session on Thursday beginning at 8:15 p.m. on the campus practice fields next to the Pruitt Football Wing. All Wake Forest preseason practices are open to the public and the media.

All 101 Deacon players expected to be in camp either were already on campus for summer school or reported Wednesday. When practice begins Thursday, the Deacons will have 21 true freshmen on the field. The coaching staff will take off the training wheels for 17 redshirt
freshmen, nine of whom appear on the preseason two-deep depth chart.

Thursday’s session will be the first of five non-contact practices. The Deacons will conduct its first few practices under the lights on campus including Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Monday, Tuesday and next Wednesday. The first practice in full pads will be Tuesday, August 9. Two-a-days begin on August 11.

The team will hold the annual Fan Fest at Groves Stadium on Friday, August 12 at 7:15 p.m.

The complete preseason practice schedule is as follows:

Tentative and subject to change

Thursday, August 4: 8:15-10:15
Friday, August 5: 7:45-10:15
Saturday, August 6: 7:45-10:15
Sunday, August 7: Off
Monday, August 8: 7:45-10:15
Tuesday, August 9: 7:45-10:15
Wednesday, August 10: 7:45-10:15
Thursday, August 11: 9:30-11:30 4:00-6:00
Friday, August 12: 3:00-5:45
Saturday, August 13: **9:00-11:45
Sunday, August 14: Off
Monday, August 15: 9:30-11:45 4:00-6:15
Tuesday, August 16: 3:15-5:45
Wednesday, August 17: 9:30-11:45 4:00-6:15
Thursday, August 18: **9:00-11:45
Friday, August 19: 9:30-11:45 4:00-6:15
Saturday, August 20: 9:30-12:00
Sunday, August 21: Off
Monday, August 22: 9:30-11:45 4:00-6:15
Tuesday, August 23: 9:30-12:00
Wednesday, August 24: **7:30

** Groves Stadium
All other practices on campus

 
e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
 
 
 
WFU Demon Deacons report for practice
WFU's Grobe begins fifth season.
photo by Gene Galin
Latest articles in Football
 
Rosters set for Wolfpack Alumni Classic
 
NCHSAA football playoff pairings
 
Clemson vs. Wake Forest football game notes
 
ACC football by the numbers after week 3
 
ACC football by the numbers
 
ACC announces game times & TV for September 20
 
 
 
Sports

Chatham Journal sponsored
ACC Football Photos
ACC Football News
ACC Basketball Photos




Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site