This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > football

WFU's Barclay named Doak Walker Award candidate

Posted Saturday, September 3, 2005

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Senior Nominated As Nation's Top Running Back

Winston-Salem, NC - For the second straight year, Wake Forest senior running back Chris Barclay has been selected as a candidate for the Doak Walker Award. The SMU Athletic Forum announced the 2005 preseason list on Thursday.

The Doak Walker Award is annually presented to the best running back in college football. The award, which is celebrating its 16th year, is named for SMU's three-time All-American running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Barclay, a 5-foot-10, 180-pound running back from Louisville, Ky., has rushed for 1,000 yards and led the ACC in rushing during the regular season each of the last two years. He is a two-time All-ACC pick and the only player in Wake Forest history to surpass the 1,000-yard mark in consecutive years.

Barclay played in all 11 games last year for the Demon Deacons. He led the ACC with 243 attempts and finished with 1,010 yards. His season-high came in the season opener at Clemson, a 179-yard rushing performance that led to ACC Offensive Back of the Week honors.

Barclay stands 907 yards away from breaking Wake Forest's career rushing mark, currently held by James McDougald. He has already tied the school's career rushing touchdown record.

Barclay is one of 47 running backs from across college football on the Doak Walker Award list of candidates.

The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select the semifinalists on November 17, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote on the winner in late November. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2005 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN along with other NCFAA member awards on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at The Wyndham Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Monday, Feb. 27, 2006.

The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

Joseph Addai (Sr.), LSU
Chris Barclay (Sr.), Wake Forest
Mike Bell (Sr.), Arizona
Brett Biggs (Sr.), Akron
Ahmad Bradshaw (So.), Marshall
Cornell Brockington (Jr.), Connecticut
Curtis Brown (Jr.), BYU
Thomas Brown (So.), Georgia
Michael Bush (Jr.), Louisville
Reggie Bush (Jr.), USC
Patrick Cobbs (Sr.), North Texas
P.J. Daniels (Sr.), Georgia Tech
Maurice Drew (Jr.), UCLA
Tyler Ebell (Sr.), UTEP
Anthony Evans (Sr.), Houston
Quinton Ganther (Sr.), Utah
Lynell Hamilton (So.), San Diego State
Mike Hart (So.), Michigan
Taurean Henderson (Sr.), Texas Tech
Stevie Hicks (Jr.), Iowa State
Peyton Hillis (So.), Arkansas
Carlton Jones (Sr.), Army
Brian Leonard (Sr.), Rutgers
Courtney Lewis (Jr.), Texas A&M
Rafael Little (So.), Kentucky
Wali Lundy (Sr.), Virginia
Marshawn Lynch (So.), UC Berkeley
Lee Marks (Sr.), Boise State
Reggie Merriweather (Jr.), Clemson
DonTrell Moore (Sr.), New Mexico
Tyrone Moss (Jr.), Miami
Jerious Norwood (Sr.), Mississippi State
Uril Parrish (Sr.), Tulsa
Adrian Peterson (So.), Oklahoma
P.J. Pope (Sr.), Bowling Green
Damien Rhodes (Sr.), Syracuse
Cory Ross (Sr.), Nebraska
Jamario Thomas (So.), North Texas
Pierre Thomas (Jr.), Illinois
Lawrence Vickers (Sr.), Colorado
Jerod Void (Sr.), Purdue
Danny Ware (So.), Georgia
Leon Washington (Sr.), Florida State
LenDale White (Jr.), USC
Terrence Whitehead (Sr.), Oregon
DeAngelo Williams (Sr.), Memphis
Garrett Wolfe (Jr.), Northern Illinois

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
WFU's Barclay named Doak Walker Award candidate
Wake Forest senior running back Chris Barclay.
photo by Gene Galin
Latest articles in Football
Rosters set for Wolfpack Alumni Classic
NCHSAA football playoff pairings
Clemson vs. Wake Forest football game notes
ACC football by the numbers after week 3
ACC football by the numbers
ACC announces game times & TV for September 20

Chatham Journal sponsored
ACC Football Photos
ACC Football News
ACC Basketball Photos

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site