This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > football

Senior defenders win Wolfpack MVP honors

Posted Sunday, December 12, 2004

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Wolfpack seniors Andre Maddox, Lamont Reid and Patrick Thomas were the recipients of the football team's Governor's Awards, given annually to the team MVPs. The awards were presented Saturday evening at the team's award banquet.

Maddox, a roverback, and Thomas, a linebacker, were the top career tacklers in the ACC this past season, and teamed with Reid to lead the team to the national lead in total defense. Thomas also earned the Captains Award, the Al Michaels Award (for putting Team before Self) and the Most Valuable Linebacker Award. Maddox and Reid were both named Most Valuable Defensive Backs.

Senior cornerback Dovonte Edwards and senior offensive guard Rickey Fowler won the Bo Rein Memorial Award, given to players who provide a "vital contribution in an unsung role." Sophomore defensive end Mario Williams, a first-team All-ACC performer, earned the Bob Warren Award, given to the player who exhibits "Integrity and Sportsmanship." The Mike Hardy Award, which is given for "Winning attitude and playing beyond capabilities" went to senior safety Troy Graham and junior tight end John Ritcher.

J.J.Jones and Patrick Lowery were named Special Teams Players of the Year, while wide receiver John Dunlap won the Offensive Newcomer Award and defensive end Ray Brooks won the award on the defensive side of the ball.

Governor's Award (MVP)
Andre Maddox
Lamont Reid
Patrick Thomas

Cary Brewbaker Award (Most Valuable Defensive Lineman)
Manny Lawson
Mario Williams

Most Valuable Defensive Back
Andre Maddox
Lamont Reid

Most Valuable Linebacker
Patrick Thomas

Jim Ritcher Blocking Award
Jed Paulsen

Special Teams Player of the Year
J.J. Jones
Pat Lowery

Most Valuable Offensive Back
T.A. McLendon

Most Valuable Specialist
John Deraney

Mike Hardy Awardd (Winning Attitude/Playing Beyond Capabilities)
Troy Graham
John Ritcher

Bo Rein Award (Vital Contribution in an Unsung Role)
Dovonte Edwards
Rickey Fowler

Bob Warren Award (Integrity and Sportsmanship)
Mario Williams

Al Michaels Award (Team Before Self)
Patrick Thomas

Ken McNeil Iron Wolf Award (Comeback from Injury)
Chris Colmer

Earle Edwards Award (Highest GPA)
Williams Lee

Gary Rowe Award (Most Receptions)
T.J. Williams

Captains Awards
Troy Graham
Andre Maddox
Jed Paulsen
Patrick Thomas

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year
David Green

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year
John Bedics

Top Conditioned Athletes
Freddie Aughtry-Lindsay
Avery Gibson
Pat Lowery

Offensive Newcomer
John Dunlap

Defensive Newcomer
Ray Brooks

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
Latest articles in Football
Rosters set for Wolfpack Alumni Classic
NCHSAA football playoff pairings
Clemson vs. Wake Forest football game notes
ACC football by the numbers after week 3
ACC football by the numbers
ACC announces game times & TV for September 20

Chatham Journal sponsored
ACC Football Photos
ACC Football News
ACC Basketball Photos

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site