This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > football

2007 All-ACC football teams announced

Posted Tuesday, November 27, 2007

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

The Associated Press has announced the 2007 All-ACC football team.

Local Atlantic Coast Conference football players honored were:

Carolina: Second Team Offense: Wide receiver Hakeem Nicks; Second Team Defense: Defensive end Hilee Taylor, Defensive tackle Kentwan Balmer, Line backer Durell Mapp; Honorable mention Special Teams: Kicker Connor Barth, Kickoff and punt returner Brandon Tate.

Duke: Second Team Offense: Wide receiver Eron Riley.

NC State: Honorable mention offense: Outside guard Kalani Heppe; Second Team Defense: Safety DaJuan Morgan; Honorable mention defense: Defensive tackle DeMario Pressley; Second Team Special Teams: Kickoff and punt returner Darrell Blackman.

Wake Forest: First Team Offense: Wide receiver Kenneth Moore, Center Steve Justice; Second Team Offense: Running back Josh Adams. First Team Defense: Cornerback Alphonso Smith; Second Team Defense: Linebacker Aaron Curry; Honorable mention defense: Safety Chip Vaughn; Honorable mention Special Teams: Kicker Sam Swank; Kickoff and punt returner Kevin Marion.

Below is a complete list of selections, as voted on by 73 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. A first-team vote was worth two points and second team vote one.


QB—Matt Ryan, Boston College (143)

RB—Tashard Choice, Georgia Tech (143)

RB—James Davis, Clemson (131)

WR—Aaron Kelly, Clemson (128)

WR—Kenneth Moore, Wake Forest (117)

TE—Ryan Purvis, Boston College (109)

OT—Barry Richardson, Clemson (120)

OT—Andrew Gardner, Georgia Tech (85)

OG—Branden Albert, Virginia (105)

OG—Chris McDuffie, Clemson (100)

C—Steve Justice, Wake Forest (122)


QB—Cullen Harper, Clemson (70)

RB—Andre Callender, Boston College (72)

RB—Josh Adams, Wake Forest (51)

WR—Hakeem Nicks, North Carolina (75)

WR—Eron Riley, Duke (38)

TE—Tom Santi, Virginia (60)

OT—Duane Brown, Virginia Tech (79(

OT—Gosder Cherilus, Boston College (64)

OG—Andrew Crummey, Maryland (86)

OG—Rodney Hudson, Florida State and Derrick Morse, Miami (51)

C—Kevin Tuminello, Georgia Tech (65)


Keon Lattimore, RB, Maryland, (25); Brandon Robinson, WR, Boston College, (30); Eugene Monroe, OT, Virginia, (46); Kalani Heppe, OG, N.C. State, (21).



DE—Chris Long, Virginia, Sr. (146)

DE—Chris Ellis, Virginia Tech (70)

DT—Vance Walker, Georgia Tech (93)

DT—Dre Moore, Maryland (51)

LB—Erin Henderson, Maryland (111)

LB—Xavier Adibi, Virginia Tech (104)

LB—Geno Hayes, Florida State (69)

CB—Alphonso Smith, Wake Forest (127)

CB—Victor Harris, Virginia Tech (81)

S—Jamie Silva, Boston College (130)

S—Kenny Phillips, Miami (85)


DE—Hilee Taylor, North Carolina (66)

DE—Darrell Robertson, Georgia Tech (36)

DT—Barry Booker, Virginia Tech (50)

DT—Kentwan Balmer, North Carolina (42)

LB—Durell Mapp, North Carolina (64)

LB—Aaron Curry, Wake Forest (54)

LB—Jolonn Dunbar, Boston College, and Phillip Weaver, Georgia Tech (48)

CB—DeJuan Tribble, Boston College (77)

CB—Brandon Flowers, Virginia Tech (73)

S—Michael Hamlin, Clemson (49)

S—DaJuan Morgan, N.C. State (48)


Phillip Merling, DE, Clemson, (32); Calais Campbell, DE, Miami, (29); Alex Albright, DE, Boston College, (22); Ron Brace, DT, Boston College, (39); DeMario Pressley, DT, N.C. State, (38); Carlton Powell, DT, Virginia Tech, (25); Dorell Scott, DT, Clemson, (25); Vince Hall, LB, Virginia Tech, (38); Patrick Robinson, CB, Florida State, (47); Chip Vaughn, S, Wake Forest, (45); Jamal Lewis, S, Georgia Tech, (25); D.J. Parker, S, Virginia Tech, (23).



K—Travis Bell, Georgia Tech (64)

P—Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech (126)

KR-PR—Eddie Royal, Virginia Tech (74)


K—Gary Cismesia, Florida State (40)

P—Ryan Weigand, Virginia (32)

KR-PR—Darrell Blackman, N.C. State (44)

Connor Barth, K, North Carolina, (35); Sam Swank, K, Wake Forest, (29); Graham Gano, P, Florida State, (24); Kevin Marion, KR-PR, Wake Forest, (32); C.J. Spiller, KR-PR, Clemson, (27); Brandon Tate, KR-PR, North Carolina, (25).

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
Latest articles in Football
Rosters set for Wolfpack Alumni Classic
NCHSAA football playoff pairings
Clemson vs. Wake Forest football game notes
ACC football by the numbers after week 3
ACC football by the numbers
ACC announces game times & TV for September 20

Chatham Journal sponsored
ACC Football Photos
ACC Football News
ACC Basketball Photos

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site