This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > sports > basketball

2008-09 All-ACC Basketball Teams

Posted Friday, March 13, 2009

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

UNC's Hansbrough becomes first-ever four-time unanimous selection

Greensboro, NC - Tyler Hansbrough has become the first player in league history to be unanimously selected four times to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference team.

Tyler Hansbrough

North Carolina teammate Ty Lawson joined him on the first team, along with Florida State guard Toney Douglas, Duke swingman Gerald Henderson and Miami guard Jack McClinton in voting by 76 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Hansbrough last year became the third player in league history to be unanimously named to the all-ACC team three times, joining North Carolina State's David Thompson (1973-75) and Duke's Art Heyman (1961-63), and was the first to do it in his first three years in the league.

He leads the league with a 21-point scoring average. The reigning national player of the year and leading scorer in school history enters this week's ACC tournament 52 points shy of J.J. Redick's 3-year-old league record of 2,769 career points.

McClinton, the only other repeat selection to the first team, is the ACC's leading 3-point shooter and has made 46 percent of his attempts from beyond the arc. He ranks third in the league with a scoring average of 19.7 points.

Douglas was a near unanimous selection _ he received 226 voting points of a possible 228. He is scoring 20.8 points per game, second in the ACC, is the league's leading scorer in conference games, and he helped Florida State claim the No. 4 seed and an opening-round bye in the league tournament.

Lawson leads the ACC with 6.5 assists per game and an assist-to-turnover ratio of 3.3, and his scoring average of nearly 16 points ranks 12th in the conference. Henderson, Duke's leading scorer, averages 16.6 points and scored at least 19 points in seven of his final nine games.

Wake Forest guard Jeff Teague was joined on the second team by Clemson big man Trevor Booker, Boston College guard Tyrese Rice, Duke forward Kyle Singler and Maryland guard Greivis Vasquez. The third team was led by Wake Forest's James Johnson, Virginia Tech's Malcolm Delaney and A.D. Vassallo, North Carolina's Danny Green and Georgia Tech's Gani Lawal.

Demon Deacons forward Al-Farouq Aminu joined Virginia's Sylven Landesberg as unanimous selections to the all-rookie team. They were joined by Georgia Tech's Iman Shumpert, Florida State's Solomon Alabi and North Carolina's Ed Davis.

Alabi and Douglas also made the all-defensive team, and were joined by Booker, Green and Wake Forest guard L.D. Williams. Booker and Douglas led the defensive nominees with 67 votes apiece.

The voting for the 2009 All-Atlantic Coast Conference basketball teams, as cast by 76 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

All-ACC Teams

First Team
*Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina (228)
Toney Douglas, Florida State (226)
Ty Lawson, North Carolina (224)
Gerald Henderson, Duke (210)
Jack McClinton, Miami (188)

Second Team
Jeff Teague, Wake Forest (185)
Trevor Booker, Clemson (156)
Tyrese Rice, Boston College (151)
Kyle Singler, Duke (128)
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (116)

Third Team
James Johnson, Wake Forest (100)
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech (83)
A.D. Vassallo, Virginia Tech (81)
Danny Green, North Carolina (48)
Gani Lawal, Georgia Tech (46)

Honorable Mention
Wayne Ellington, North Carolina (41)
K.C. Rivers, Clemson (33)
Sylven Landesberg, Virginia (15)

All-Freshman Team
*Sylven Landesberg, Virginia (76)
*Al-Farouq Aminu, Wake Forest (76)
Iman Shumpert, Georgia Tech (70)
Solomon Alabi, Florida State (59)
Ed Davis, North Carolina (55)

Honorable Mention
Chris Singleton, Florida State (21)

All-Defensive Team
Trevor Booker, Clemson (67)
Toney Douglas, Florida State (67)
Solomon Alabi, Florida State (53)
Danny Green, North Carolina (28)
L.D. Williams, Wake Forest (26)

Honorable Mention
Ty Lawson, North Carolina (20)
Gani Lawal, Georgia Tech (17)
Courtney Fells, North Carolina State (16)
Gerald Henderson, Duke (15)

* Unanimous selection.

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
2008-09 All-ACC Basketball Teams
Tyler Hansbrough's UNC teammate Ty Lawson joined him on the All-Atlantic Coast Conference first team.
photos by Gene Galin

Chatham Journal sponsored
ACC Football Photos
ACC Basketball Photos

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site