This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatham weblogs

Chatham Weblogs

Page 1 of 6     1 2 3 4 5 6

Commissioners Bock, Petty, and Stewart's vision for Chatham CountyCommissioners Bock, Petty, and Stewart's vision for Chatham County
[Aug. 28, 2014] Imagine an educational system where everybody is working together, where we acknowledge, one size doesn’t fit all. Further imagine a system where every child receives a quality education regardless of address or household income. Now imagine that graduates from this system can live and work in Chatham. A system where our commissioners, school board, charter schools, EDC, and the community college work as ONE team with ONE goal. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
No property tax rate increase is good news for Chatham CountyNo property tax rate increase is good news for Chatham County
[Jun. 13, 2014] We passed the 2014-2015 budget on Tuesday night, May 20. The theme of this year’s budget is ‘Working together is success”. By working together with our departments, the school administration, the Sheriff’s department, the Community College, and others we were able to fund the county’s priorities without an increase in the property tax rate for the 4th consecutive budget year. Helping make that possible is an economic recovery better than the State or national average. Our unemployment rate is consistently lower than the state average. Our sales tax revenue is growing at almost double the statewide rate. Companies have invested another $100 million in new capital in Chatham already this year. The rating agencies recently affirmed our AA+ bond rating with Moody’s giving us a favorable outlook that could lead to an upgrade in the near future. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Promises made - promises keptPromises made - promises kept
[Apr. 15, 2014] Pam Stewart, Walter Petty and I have had the honor of serving as County Commissioners since December 2010 and are candidates for reelection. As we talk to friends, neighbors and residents, we hear their frustration with the dysfunctional nature of partisanship. Fortunately, at the county level we are able to avoid that problem to a large degree. We get to be more connected with our residents than officials in “higher” office. Our cell phone numbers are on the county website and we hold town hall meetings throughout the county. Party affiliation and labels aren’t important locally. Actions and results are what matters. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Chatham commissioners go with committee recommendations to fill EDC appointmentsChatham commissioners go with committee recommendations to fill EDC appointments
[Jun. 23, 2013] On Monday June 20th, Joe Glasson of the Chatham County Economic Development Corporation (EDC) presented the list of applicants to fill the open and expiring seats on the EDC board. The process to appoint members to this board is long and comprehensive. This year the committee sent us ten applicants to fill eight open positions. The majority of our board felt that to ensure the board remains effective we didn't want to expand the EDC board by another 2 members. Currently the full board has a total of 22 members (14 voting and 8 ex-officio). By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
No Chatham County property tax increase for third consecutive yearNo Chatham County property tax increase for third consecutive year
[Jun. 19, 2013] Great news! We have passed a 2013-2014 budget that stays focused on our core functions and keeps on the path to a a prosperous, thriving community. We continue our strong support for education and public safety including increasing the teacher supplement funding to $3.8 million to help cover increased supplement costs the school system had been absorbing. We also allocated $500,000 in a one-time appropriation to the school system for replacement of laptops for all teachers in grades k-8. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Protecting Jordan Lake from upstream pollution is essential for Chatham CountyProtecting Jordan Lake from upstream pollution is essential for Chatham County
[Jun. 12, 2013] Senate Bill 515, Jordan Lake Water Quality Act, has moved from the NC Senate to the NC House. The bill would roll back and eventually eliminate the "Jordan Lake Rules" put in place to protect the quality of Jordan Lake. The rules are the result of a very long stake holder process to develop nutrient reduction strategies for the lake and the waters that flow into it. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Five criteria used to select new Chatham County jail siteFive criteria used to select new Chatham County jail site
[Sep. 2, 2011] We recently voted to locate the new jail at the old Chatham County Landfill site. In a perfect world we wouldn't need to build a new jail but unfortunately we have a critical need now. Before our vote, a committee made up of representatives from the Sheriff's office, County Manager's office, Public works, and the project construction manager studied possible sites throughout the county. There were three possible sites evaluated in depth. The first was adjacent to the new justice center, the second was a site in town Pittsboro, and the third was the County landfill property. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Lots of passion and competing petitionsLots of passion and competing petitions
[Sep. 2, 2011] It is no surprise that a land use plan affecting the entire county for decades to come has stirred passions and strong feelings among our citizens. The process for a joint land use plan has been on-going for seven years. Draft plans and maps have been changed and updated many times over the years to incorporate citizen input. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Chatham School Board request for additional funds provides little dataChatham School Board request for additional funds provides little data
[Jul. 25, 2011] Much has been written and discussed in the past week about the Chatham County School budget. Some believe that the majority of the commissioners do not support the Chatham County Schools because we did not approve a request by the superintendent for an additional $706,000 to cover cuts imposed by the State legislature or to approve county relief of a $98,000 water bill from the town of Pittsboro. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Take a deep breath and remain calmTake a deep breath and remain calm
[Jun. 6, 2011] For me, it was a reckoning day. I thought I had seen and heard everything during my service on the BOC, but now, I reckon I had not! I do have a real distaste for being blind-sided by my peers! No reason for it. As the Board majority planned to cut the budget review process, I would have thought it appropriate to advise the minority members in advance of such action. But that is apparently the nature of Chatham politics.
  By Mike Cross
Also: Mike Cross' Weblog
 
Funding core services and protecting our environment are key component in Chatham's budget proposalFunding core services and protecting our environment are key component in Chatham's budget proposal
[May 27, 2011] I want to thank those who attended the public hearings on the proposed budget in Pittsboro and Siler City. While the majority of those I’ve spoken with and heard from support the proposed budget others have expressed concern that we are cutting vital services and environmental safeguards. Funding core services and protecting our environment are key components in this proposal. Before I outline how this budget does that, let me recap the reasons for reducing spending now. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Revision made to the pro law enforcement resolutionRevision made to the pro law enforcement resolution
[May 18, 2011] As you might imagine, in the weeks since first publishing the law enforcement resolution, we have received quite abit of feedback. Some of the feedback has been negative and some positive. It has ranged from "Of course you should pass the resolution" to "Search your heart before passing such a hateful resolution". The vast majority of feedback has been in support. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
2011-12 Chatham County budget contains no property tax increases2011-12 Chatham County budget contains no property tax increases
[May 14, 2011] The county manager's office will present the recommended 2011-2012 budget at this Monday's meeting (May 16, 2011). Our budget team has done a tremendous job in preparing recommendations that increase our commitment to public education and public safety while cutting over-all spending by $1.5 million in discretionary items. Most counties will be recommending cuts in K-12 allocations, we are recommending an increased allocation to our public schools by approximately 2%. The Community College operating budget is recommended to increase by about 8% for a total increase in education spending of $1.4 million. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Plans in place to redraw Chatham County commissioner election districtsPlans in place to redraw Chatham County commissioner election districts
[May 11, 2011] Since 2006 our commissioner districts have been changed twice. In 2006 the Board of Commissioners (BOC) led by Commissioner Morgan gathered a bi-partisan task force to redraw the districts. A solution was agreed on by the task force and subsequently adopted by the BOC. Newly elected commissioners who came into office later that year were not happy with the new districts and decided they should be changed. Commissioner Lucier worked directly with the county GIS department to develop new districts to propose to the BOC. These new districts were adopted in 2007. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
The first one hundred daysThe first one hundred days
[Mar. 28, 2011] Around this time last year Pam Stewart, Walter Petty, and I made a commitment to bring much needed change to Chatham County. We had fantastic support from folks all across the county helping us get here so that we could make these changes, and I'd like to take a moment to let all of you know what we have done in just our first 100 days. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog

Page 1 of 6     1 2 3 4 5 6

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site