This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > one on one

One on One

Page 1 of 17     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

A non-lawyer on the Supreme Court?A non-lawyer on the Supreme Court?
[Aug. 28, 2014] President Obama plans to appoint National Public Radio’s Nina Totenberg to the United States Supreme Court. Not really, of course. Totenberg may know more than most lawyers about the Supreme Court from her experience as an award-winning legal affairs correspondent for NPR. But she is not a lawyer, and you have to be a lawyer to be on the court. Don't you? By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
 
Is it that bad?Is it that bad?
[Aug. 8, 2014] Why do we read books? For entertainment, of course, first and foremost. But the best books also challenge us emotionally and intellectually to see the world in a different way, as it really is, or as it once was, as it could be, or, perhaps, as it will become. Here are some summer reading ideas of North Carolina books that could open your eyes to seeing our world differently and entertaining you at the same time. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
 
Books: Showing us as it once was, is, or could beBooks: Showing us as it once was, is, or could be
[Jul. 20, 2014] Why do we read books? For entertainment, of course, first and foremost. But the best books also challenge us emotionally and intellectually to see the world in a different way, as it really is, or as it once was, as it could be, or, perhaps, as it will become. Here are some summer reading ideas of North Carolina books that could open your eyes to seeing our world differently and entertaining you at the same time. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
 
Music, murder and more for your summer readingMusic, murder and more for your summer reading
[Jun. 26, 2014] Have you made a list of books to read on your summer vacation? Here are some North Carolina books for that list. UNC-Wilmington’s Clyde Edgerton’s “Night Train” came out three years ago and remains a favorite because it takes me back to my growing up years. Two friends, both teenaged boys, live in Starke, a fictional eastern North Carolina town, in the early 1960s. One, Larry Lime Nolan, is black, and he wants to play jazz like Thelonious Monk. The other, Dwayne Hallston, is white, and he wants to be another James Brown. They have much in common, but rules of the segregated South put roadblocks in the way of their friendship. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
 
The Republicans’ best choice for 2016The Republicans’ best choice for 2016
[Jun. 22, 2014] Romney for President. Get used to the idea. Again. But, you say, Mitt Romney has made it clear that he is not interested in running again. He is a two-time loser, which makes him damaged property. And the far-right wing of the party was never happy with him as a candidate. And by the time he would first become president he would be 69 years old. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
 
The South is a dilemma for both partiesThe South is a dilemma for both parties
[May 9, 2014] What President Obama needed was a Shirley Temple! Not the popular non-alcoholic drink named for the childhood star. What he needed as he faced the nation’s worst economic situation since the Great Depression was the kind of help President Franklin D. Roosevelt got from a bright, cheerful, optimistic child actor who lifted the spirits of almost every American during the dark times of the 1930s. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Randy Voller ridiculed on "The Daily Show" by Jon Stewart
 
Would a Shirley Temple help?Would a Shirley Temple help?
[May 5, 2014] What President Obama needed was a Shirley Temple! Not the popular non-alcoholic drink named for the childhood star. What he needed as he faced the nation’s worst economic situation since the Great Depression was the kind of help President Franklin D. Roosevelt got from a bright, cheerful, optimistic child actor who lifted the spirits of almost every American during the dark times of the 1930s. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Saying thanks is not enoughSaying thanks is not enough
[Apr. 29, 2014] “Thanks for your service.” Maybe we have done a better job of showing appreciation to the members of the armed forces who fought in Iraq and Afghanistan than we did for those who served in Vietnam. Some opponents of that war made many Vietnam veterans feel that coming home was like leaving one war only to be thrown into another. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
North Carolina is 'Variety Literatureland'North Carolina is 'Variety Literatureland'
[Apr. 28, 2014] “Variety Vacationland.” Do you remember that slogan from our state’s past? I suggest a new one: “Variety Literatureland.” In the next few weeks I plan to provide support for my suggestion in the form of books and their authors who will be appearing on “North Carolina Bookwatch.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
From ash pond, to river, to your bloodstreamFrom ash pond, to river, to your bloodstream
[Apr. 11, 2014] When you have finished drinking this bottle of water, fill it with our tap water for liquid refreshment that tastes as good and is just as pure as what was in the bottle. That was the message from the City of Wilmington’s proud and professional public utilities department at an event celebrating one of its enlightened water quality improvement projects a few years ago. Their message still hits home with me. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Be proud of the way you talkBe proud of the way you talk
[Apr. 8, 2014] You sure do talk funny. Has anybody ever told you that? If you grew up in North Carolina and moved somewhere else for a while, you surely got that kind of question from folks who just had to laugh when they heard you talk. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Documenting Down East’s disappearing way of lifeDocumenting Down East’s disappearing way of life
[Mar. 3, 2014] “Down East” in North Carolina does not mean what you think it means. Larry Earley, former editor of “Wildlife in North Carolina” magazine and author of “Looking for Longleaf: The Fall and Rise of an American Forest,” moved to the community of Atlantic in 2006 to live one week a month while photographing the working boats of Core Sound. He learned from his neighbors that “‘Down East’ North Carolina refers to the wet peninsula lying east of Beaufort, in coastal Carteret County, with its broad skies, extravagant marshes, shallow sounds, and notched bays.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Truth in fiction — How bad did the recession hurt?Truth in fiction — How bad did the recession hurt?
[Mar. 1, 2014] The good news for all of us in North Carolina is that the unemployment rate is declining and the increase in economic activity is opening up new jobs to replace some of those we lost during the recession. The bad news is that some North Carolinians are never going to recover from the disruption the financial crisis caused their career paths. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Planting native, saving our diversityPlanting native, saving our diversity
[Feb. 28, 2014] First question for you, says UNC-TV's “Exploring North Carolina” host, Tom Earnhardt, when he begins his talk to a Rotary club or other civic group, is, how many of you have spare parts somewhere in your body? By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Adventure and history on a trip down the Cape FearAdventure and history on a trip down the Cape Fear
[Jan. 31, 2014] What could you learn from a trip down the Cape Fear River? Starting, say at a few miles below Jordan Lake where Haw River joins Deep River to form the Cape Fear, canoeing downstream and passing by Raven Rock State Park before reaching the bridge at Lillington, getting through three sets of dams and locks, all the way to Fayetteville. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine

Page 1 of 17     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site