This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > one on one

One on One

Page 6 of 17     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

A story about a storyA story about a story
[Aug. 23, 2009] There is the story, and then there is the story of the story. Both make for good telling. First, the story of the story, which is about how a North Carolina author got her first book published by a major national publisher. It’s got a fairy tale quality. Think Cinderella. Or think American Idol’s Clay Aiken or Anoop Desai. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Food is the new tobaccoFood is the new tobacco
[Aug. 4, 2009] You don’t need to read all of this column to get its message. For North Carolinians it is simply this: Food is the new tobacco. Here’s why. We have known all along that using tobacco products was bad for health. But North Carolina people, as a group, resisted government regulations, restrictions on places it could be consumed, taxes, and even educational programs designed to discourage their use. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Hiking the Appalachain Trail - A serious matter for one North Carolina writerHiking the Appalachain Trail - A serious matter for one North Carolina writer
[Jul. 15, 2009] Could anyone angrier with South Carolina Governor Mark Sanford than his wife? A North Carolina woman is pretty upset with him—not because he went to Argentina to visit his love interest. She is disturbed because Sanford used her beloved Appalachian Trail as his cover story. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
North Carolina's literary elder statesman - in his youthNorth Carolina's literary elder statesman - in his youth
[Jul. 7, 2009] “An elder statesman of American letters.” What North Carolina writer comes to your mind when you read those words? These are the words a New York Times reviewer of Reynolds Price’s new book, “Ardent Spirits: Leaving Home, Coming Back,” used to describe Price. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Suggestions for summer reading - and viewingSuggestions for summer reading - and viewing
[Jun. 22, 2009] It is summertime again and time to put aside a few books for vacation reading. Let me share some suggestions from books I have been reading to prepare for UNC-TV’s North Carolina Bookwatch’s new season beginning on Sunday, July 5, at 5 pm. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Cary Allred's burial ovationCary Allred's burial ovation
[Jun. 21, 2009] You remember Marc Antony’s speech from Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar, beginning with: “Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears.” Should it be this way for Cary Allred, whose recent political suicide and resignation from the state house of representatives was the center of attention in the state’s political news last month? By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Tear down the Lincoln Memorial?Tear down the Lincoln Memorial?
[Jun. 20, 2009] After reading an important and provocative new book about Abraham Lincoln’s ideas about the proper role of freed blacks in post-slavery times, I wondered if somebody will propose that we tear down the Lincoln Memorial. In “‘What Shall We Do with the Negro?’ Lincoln, White Racism, and Civil War America,” Wake Forest history professor Paul Escott discusses the wide variety of opinions in Civil War times about what to do with blacks after the war ended. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
North Carolina's most influential political figureNorth Carolina's most influential political figure
[Jun. 15, 2009] A lot of people think that the big Walter Davis Library at UNC-Chapel Hill is named after the great basketball player. Ned Cline, the biographer of the Walter Davis for whom the building is actually named, tells how one Chapel Hill student told another that “the library should not have been named for Walter Davis, because Phil Ford was a much better basketball player for the Tar Heel team.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Memories surround us at graduation timeMemories surround us at graduation time
[May 26, 2009] While many other families are celebrating or preparing to celebrate a child’s graduation, my family waits to celebrate the birth of my daughter’s third child. But I still remember her college graduation when I wrote the following: Graduations are over. Caps and gowns have been returned to the rental agency - or carefully folded and put in the top of the closet to save along with other treasures that won't be used again anytime soon. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Good schools -- The one magic answer?Good schools -- The one magic answer?
[Mar. 24, 2009] What really makes for good schools? At a recent conference organized for North Carolina Editorial Writers, the organizer, Ferrel Guillory, Director of UNC-Chapel Hill’s Program on Public Life, presented this question for discussion. To help, he brought several top education experts, including J.B. Buxton, the former deputy school superintendent in charge of day-to-day operations at the Department of Public Instruction; Judith Rizzo, Executive Director of the Hunt Institute for Educational Leadership and Policy; and Bill McDiarmid, Dean of UNC-Chapel Hill’s School of Education. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Cheeseburgers and North Carolina politics -- A mouthfulCheeseburgers and North Carolina politics -- A mouthful
[Mar. 23, 2009] “Just tell Claxton that I got his message.” It was the last thing North Carolina House Speaker of Representatives Joe Hackney told me after he learned that my friend Jamie May and I were going to eat cheeseburgers at Johnson’s in Siler City. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Remembering where we were this TuesdayRemembering where we were this Tuesday
[Jan. 21, 2009] Where were you on January 20, 2009? It is a question we will be asking each other just like we have heard people asking others where they were on December 7, 1941, when they heard about Pearl Harbor. Or where they were when they heard about and celebrated the end of World War II? Where were they on November 22, 1963, when they heard about the assassination of President Kennedy? Who were they with when they watched the funeral parade on television a few days later? Where were they on September 11, 2001, and with whom did they spend the rest of the day? By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Helms and Obama - Co-RevolutionariesHelms and Obama - Co-Revolutionaries
[Nov. 18, 2008] It is over at last! Now it is time to start trying to figure out what this election means. In doing some of that figuring, we are going to come up with some startling conclusions. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Look for some surprising surprises on Election DayLook for some surprising surprises on Election Day
[Oct. 20, 2008] What about the other races? Few people, other than political insiders, are asking this question when they talk about the possible results of the upcoming elections in North Carolina. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Looking for real scandal—Read about Bumcombe BobLooking for real scandal—Read about Bumcombe Bob
[Aug. 19, 2008] Given all the unwelcome publicity about former senator John Edwards, it is hard to believe that only a few years ago I wrote a column that began, “Don't you wish sometimes that North Carolina had some ‘interesting’ political characters who were just a little bit ‘naughty’?” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine

Page 6 of 17     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site