This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > one on one

One on One

Page 5 of 17     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

Outside the banks—the Mississippi and you and meOutside the banks—the Mississippi and you and me
[May 18, 2011] The Mississippi River has gone “wild” again. When it happened back in 1993, it led me to compare the challenges of managing a river and managing our lives, both sometimes moving outside their defined channels. Here is what I wrote back the: By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
North Carolina books for spring readingNorth Carolina books for spring reading
[May 18, 2011] What should I be reading this spring? Some of you know that I get this question from my friends each year when the weather starts to warm up. And, you remember, I often respond with a list of a variety of books, each of which has a North Carolina connection and, often, just happen to be scheduled on UNC-TV’s North Carolina Bookwatch’s upcoming programs. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Legislative trading and sausage makingLegislative trading and sausage making
[Apr. 26, 2011] “If someone ties a love note to a nuclear bomb, do you take ‘em both?” That was State Senate Minority Leader Martin Nesbitt, a Democrat, complaining about the legislature’s Republican majority tying a controversial budget cut provision to a popular proposed extension of unemployment benefits. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
“They are trying to eat Big Bird”“They are trying to eat Big Bird”
[Apr. 25, 2011] The hundreds of William Friday’s friends and fans who gathered to hear him speak last week might not have guessed that the institutions he worked so hard to build were threatened by the just-released legislative budget proposals. But he gave them a big clue when he opened his remarks with, “They are trying to eat Big Bird.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Getting ready to watch the North Carolina legislatureGetting ready to watch the North Carolina legislature
[Jan. 16, 2011] Watch out! The legislature is coming back to Raleigh this month. “Nothing is safe while they are in session,” the old hands say. They are only half joking. That rule will not change this year in North Carolina as Republicans take control. But some things will change. Here are a few examples. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Top ten North Carolina news stories in 2010Top ten North Carolina news stories in 2010
[Jan. 12, 2011] If you, like me, missed seeing a list of the Top 10 North Carolina News Stories for 2010, here is one for you to critique. 1. The November elections. The results in North Carolina put Republicans in charge of both houses of the legislature for the first time in more than 100 years. It is easily my top story. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Just like Stephan CurryJust like Stephan Curry
[Aug. 31, 2010] "We wish he would stay just a little longer. But it was three great years and we wish him well as he takes on an even bigger assignment." That is what folks at Davidson College said last year when Stephan Curry opted out of his senior year and a chance for one more year with the Wildcat basketball team. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
If "Scout" had been a klansman's daughterIf "Scout" had been a klansman's daughter
[Jul. 5, 2010] Fifty years ago, Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mocking Bird" gave us a sympathetic hero who seemed to stand up against the worst features of our region's social system. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
The candidates' challenge - County seat confusionThe candidates' challenge - County seat confusion
[Jun. 21, 2010] As the primary runoff campaign for the Democratic U.S. Senate nomination draws to a close, it is fair to ask what has been the hardest challenge for the two candidates. I will tell you my answer in a minute. But first I am going to give you the name of a useful book that every statewide political candidate should carry in the front seat of the car. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Fighting poverty - It's with us alwaysFighting poverty - It's with us always
[Jun. 20, 2010] “For the poor always ye have with you,” Jesus told his disciples. Also with us always are efforts to fight poverty. Even though there has been remarkable economic progress in recent times, poverty remains an unmet challenge in North Carolina, according to MDC, a Chapel Hill based non-profit that studies Southern trends. Last month, in a press release about its latest “State of the South” report, it said, “A new analysis of the Southern economy shows that the two recent recessions knocked the South off an upward trajectory that had broadened the middle class and nearly closed the poverty gaps that perennially separated it from the rest of the country.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Poland's North Carolina heroPoland's North Carolina hero
[Apr. 19, 2010] Sure, the recent plane crash that killed the president of Poland and a host of other important officials is a great and sad tragedy. But what in the world does it have to do with North Carolina? The connection is a little bit complicated. But bear with me, and you will learn something of the dogged determination of a North Carolina man whose fearlessness in telling the story of an earlier Polish tragedy made him better known in Poland than in his home state here in North Carolina. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Back to the drawing boards on race?Back to the drawing boards on race?
[Jan. 18, 2010] This time last year, most Americans, whatever their political persuasions, celebrated the Martin Luther King Holiday with a special good feeling that King would share the nation’s pride at inauguration of a Negro President of the United States. Of course, even though “Negro” is the word King used to describe an American with African ancestry, it is no longer accepted as a positive term. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
What about North Carolina's seven "natural" wonders?What about North Carolina's seven "natural" wonders?
[Jan. 18, 2010] “Why didn’t you make a list of North Carolina’s seven natural wonders?”
I got this question after I shared my choices for our state’s seven manmade wonders in a recent column. The same group that identified the Seven New (manmade) Wonders of the World, which prompted my earlier column, has also identified the Seven Natural Wonders: The Aurora Borealis (the Northern Lights), Grand Canyon, Paricutin (a cinder cone volcano in Mexico), Victoria Falls, Great Barrier Reef, Mount Everest, and the Harbor of Rio de Janeiro. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Back in time in a barber's chairBack in time in a barber's chair
[Nov. 2, 2009] What is the most segregated hour in the week? The 11 o’clock Sunday church service? Or maybe it is the hour we spend every week or two at the barber shop or beauty salon. Those institutions of renewal, relaxation, and exchange of information and opinion continue to be largely divided by sex and race—especially those that serve the older population. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Dissapointments that follow groundbreaking victoriesDissapointments that follow groundbreaking victories
[Sep. 28, 2009] Thinking about that presidential election still sends chills of happiness through my brain. It was 1976 and my country had, unbelievably, actually elected a real Southerner, Jimmy Carter, to the presidency. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine

Page 5 of 17     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site