This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > one on one

One on One

Page 3 of 17     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

Lessons from Disney World for ObamacareLessons from Disney World for Obamacare
[Nov. 12, 2013] What does Disney World have to do with Obamacare? There is an answer, but you will have to read on a little bit to get there. First, there is this grandfather’s testimonial about a wonderful experience at Disney World last week. Watching grandchildren experience the magic of the Disney kingdom was a treat of a lifetime. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
"Turn the tape recorder back on”"Turn the tape recorder back on”
[Nov. 7, 2013] William Friday has been dead a year now, and we still don’t know how we are going to get along without him. He was a living monument to all that is, or was, right with our state. Optimism, confidence in the basic goodness of others, respect for those who disagreed, and a relentless commitment to the improvement of the health and opportunity for every North Carolinian were just some of the William Friday package that inspired so many of us. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Always, always, follow the moneyAlways, always, follow the money
[Nov. 5, 2013] What is the first rule of politics? “Follow the money,” says Mickey, a character in Robert Inman’s new book, “The Governor’s Lady.” It is a rule that we might overlook in a time when our politics seems to be defined by hard-line ideological differences. In fact, some of us would argue that following the money would be a fruitless diversion if we are searching for the real motivation of today’s political activists By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Advice for the President from Pat Conroy’s momAdvice for the President from Pat Conroy’s mom
[Nov. 1, 2013] What advice would author Pat Conroy's late mother give President Obama in dealing with congressional Republicans over the government shutdown and debt ceiling crises? We get a clue in Conroy’s latest book, “The Death of Santini,” which came out recently. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Egypt, Nazi Germany and North CarolinaEgypt, Nazi Germany and North Carolina
[Aug. 2, 2013] “Does the following description of a political situation at the beginning of July apply to Egypt or North Carolina?

**Just a year after winning a decisive election victory and taking power from an entrenched regime that had been in charge for many years, the victors alienated a substantial part of their population. Their undemocratic efforts to deny participation by those people and groups who oppose them were patently undemocratic and unfair.** By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
The risk of doing nothingThe risk of doing nothing
[Jun. 11, 2013] “We will not be Intimidated or Coerced by Certain Alphabetical Organizations or Committees under the Disguise of ‘Betterment of Certain Groups or Races’.” It reads like the reactions of some North Carolinians to the Moral Monday demonstrations at the North Carolina Legislative Building recently, doesn’t it? By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
A new book reminds us to say thank youA new book reminds us to say thank you
[Jun. 10, 2013] “Our landings in the Cherbourg-Havre area have failed to gain a satisfactory foothold and I have withdrawn the troops.” So wrote General Dwight Eisenhower on June 5, 1944, sixty-nine years ago this week. According to Rick Atkinson’s new book, “The Guns at Last Light: The War in Europe, 1944-1945,” currently Number One on the New York Times Non-Fiction Best Seller list, Ike continued, “If any blame or fault attaches to the attempt it is mine alone.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Celebrating the end of the Charlotte curseCelebrating the end of the Charlotte curse
[May 28, 2013] What is one thing we can do for Charlotte now that that former Mayor Pat McCrory has been elected governor of North Carolina and his successor, Anthony Foxx, has been nominated for U.S Secretary of Transportation? We can stop referring to the Charlotte mayor’s job as a dead end or curse for politicians aspiring to statewide or national office. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Remembering the Merritts of Merritt’s StoreRemembering the Merritts of Merritt’s Store
[May 24, 2013] If you mention Merritt’s Store anywhere around Chapel Hill, most often you will hear something like, “Oh yes. Best BLTs I've ever tasted.” And it is true. A bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwich at Merritt’s Store, together with sweet iced tea flavored with the fresh mint growing in a box beside the store, is one of the great taste treats in my world. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
The whole country looks at three North Carolina connected authorsThe whole country looks at three North Carolina connected authors
[Feb. 18, 2013] Three recent books with North Carolina connections have gained national recognition. You should certainly know about them. Tim Gautreaux is widely admired in our state’s literary community. For instance, popular Hillsborough author Lee Smith, writing about Gautreaux’s latest book, “The Missing,” said, “I have just finished, biting my nails and staying up almost all night to do so----surely the best rip-roaring old fashioned truly American page-turner ever written! No way to say how much I admire that book. Got your attention?” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Holding back the tideHolding back the tide
[Feb. 15, 2013] North Carolina Republicans are trying to do what the Democrats did in our state for 50 years: Hold back the tide! Until about 1960, North Carolina was part of a “Democratic Solid South.” But a Republican “Southern Strategy” and changing loyalties brought about a rising GOP tide that attracted conservative Democrats who followed Strom Thurmond and Jesse Helms into the Republican Party. That rising tide led to Republican control of most Southern state governments by the turn of the millennium. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Reacting to Governor McCrory’s higher education remarksReacting to Governor McCrory’s higher education remarks
[Feb. 14, 2013] It was as if aliens had attacked and taken over the state’s university system. At least that is how upset my university friends and faculty reacted to Governor Pat McCrory’s remarks about higher education. He said, "I think some of the educational elite have taken over our education where we are offering courses that have no chance of getting people jobs…I'm going to adjust my education curriculum to what business and commerce needs to get our kids jobs as opposed to moving back in with their parents after they graduate with debt.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Politics, no. Lee, Jill, and Bookwatch, yes.Politics, no. Lee, Jill, and Bookwatch, yes.
[Dec. 26, 2012] “Tell me more about Jill and Lee and their new books.” I wanted to talk politics and more about why Romney lost and McCrory won, but these readers wanted only to hear more about the upcoming books by their favorite authors, Jill McCorkle and Lee Smith. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
What the data shows about North Carolina votersWhat the data shows about North Carolina voters
[Nov. 2, 2012] “It is the greatest thing that could happen to the conservative cause in North Carolina.” Back in 1988, former state representative Ivan Mothershead, a Mecklenburg Republican, was commenting on my move from Charlotte to Chapel Hill. “Your move will make two communities a lot more conservative.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
This dad can finally brag about his sonThis dad can finally brag about his son
[Aug. 19, 2012] Maybe you did not notice. Last month the governor signed House Bill 799 (HR 799), a bill that makes it easier for military spouses to get the certification they need to work in North Carolina if they have been licensed for their occupation in another state. For service men and women who have been trained by the military, the new law also gives credit for that training when they apply for an occupational license in North Carolina. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine

Page 3 of 17     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site