This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > one on one

Rip Van Winkle and the lottery

By D. G. Martin
Posted Monday, May 2, 2005

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

It is May 15, 2015. I just woke up. I feel great, but my wife tells me I have been in a coma for the past 10 years.

My wife is helping me remember what happened on that day - the day I went into the coma. She says that I got real angry when I learned that the leaders of the legislature were going to push through the state lottery as part of the budget bill.

They promised everyone, "Support the lottery and you will get what you need."

Now, I am beginning to remember. The leaders promised all kinds of things to get the votes they needed--restrictions on advertising, limited places for lottery sales, programs to discourage addiction to gambling, and anything else, knowing that as soon as the lottery was in place, those provisions could be quietly eliminated.

The leaders also promised that the lottery proceeds would be earmarked for school construction, for college scholarships, for reducing class size, and everything else that anyone wanted from the state. They promised everyone, "Support the lottery and you will get what you need. But if we don't have a lottery, you will just have to do without."

I got so mad that I guess something just popped in my brain. Whatever happened, I have "asleep" since 2005 until today.

My wife is smart. She knew that when I woke up I would want to know how the lottery turned out. She kept a little file of related newspaper articles that came out while I was in the coma.

Right now I am looking through the file. I will share some of the headlines, even though I know this will all be old news to you.

August 14, 2005: Budget bill including state lottery passes in the legislature. Governor signs.

April 30, 2006: Projected lottery receipts estimate is lowered. Lottery slow getting organized. Some North Carolinians continue to be drawn by high jackpots and effective advertising in Virginia and South Carolina.

March 1, 2007: Education leaders denounce lottery and legislative leaders for failure to provide promised enhancements to education funding. Legislative leaders respond by blaming lottery officials for inept administration.

May 15, 2008: Lottery officials are called on legislative carpet to explain why lottery is generating so little income. They ask for authority to expand advertising and provide "more exciting" games.

August 15, 2008: Using budget bill again to push through lottery, the legislature frees the North Carolina lottery from almost every restriction and urges it to be creative to gain more revenue.

December 1, 2008: North Carolina lottery commission adopts a "most exciting" lottery package. Based on a "loophole" in Federal law, it opens up play on the internet for participation all over the world

March 15, 2009: Massive TV and Billboard campaign promotes lottery participation. "SUPPORT EDUCATION -AND GIVE YOUR FAMILY THE WEALTH THEY DESERVE. THE MORE LOTTERY TICKETS YOU BUY THE MORE YOU SHOW YOUR LOVE FOR YOUR FAMILY."

June 15, 2009: Lottery officials announce that they have surpassed their revenue goals. Legislature authorizes bonus compensation packages for the officials. Justifying salaries that are five times what the governor of the state makes, legislative leaders say, "These people are making money for our state. If we don't compensate them, other state lotteries will steal them away from us. We have to pay them if we are going to keep them."

July 1, 2009: Virginia and South Carolina lotteries announce "improvements" that they say will "make them more than competitive with North Carolina."

January 1, 2010. North Carolina lottery revenues stagnate. Study shows that nearly 30, 000 North Carolina teenagers have severe problems with gambling addiction.

October 15, 2010. North Carolina lottery revenues decline, creating crisis in budget. Governor declares emergency and cuts back state funds for public schools, community colleges and universities. "I hate to do it," she says. "My heart is in education for our children, but that is where the money is and that is where the major cuts will have to be made."

June 1, 2012. Lottery revenues decline again. Officials blame heavy competition from Virginia and South Carolina, based on the exciting "improvements" in those states, where lottery machines, similar to the old video poker machines have been placed in every convenience and grocery store, fast food outlet, and school cafeteria. "It is terrible," the lottery officials say, "but we will have to do the same things to compete."

August 15, 2012. Using budget bill to push it though, legislature okays "video lottery terminals" in "any public place." "These gambling terminals are as addictive as crack cocaine" a legislative leader conceded. "But, they sure bring in the cash."

January 30 2013: The national sales manager for a lottery service company is convicted of orchestrating a kickback scheme that passed on inflated payments to political consultants who also ran the election campaigns for leaders in the state house and senate.

November, 2014: State voters rise up in anger. Lottery opponents take over legislature.

May 15, 2015. Legislature passes bill phasing out lottery. Governor, a former lottery supporter, signs the bill saying, "I have heard the voice of the people and they have convinced me that it has never been good for our state."

Hey, that's today.

What a miracle! The state has been through a nightmare, and I slept right through the whole thing and never even had a bad dream.

**********************************

D.G. Martin is the author of "Interstate Eateries" a handbook of home cooking places near North Carolina's interstate highways-available through Our State Magazine (800-948-1409). He is the host of UNC-TV's North Carolina Bookwatch, which airs on Sundays at 5:00 p.m. This week's (May 8) guest is BJ Mountford,, author of "Bloodlines of Shackleford Banks."

Upcoming programs on North Carolina Bookwatch:

May 8: BJ Mountford, Bloodlines of Shackleford Banks

May 15: John Shelton Reed, Minding the South

May 22: Steven Sherrill, Visits from the Drowned Girl

May 29: Carl Ernst, Following Muhammad

 
e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
 
 
 
Rip Van Winkle and the lottery

Related info:
NC Book Watch

Our State Magazine
Latest articles in One on One
 
North Carolina and the U.S. – Mexico border
 
Four good North Carolina books for the spring
 
North Carolina’s last liberal
 
"Most moderate" and Kay
 
New lessons from old wars
 
A non-lawyer on the Supreme Court?
 
Is it that bad?
 
 
Music, murder and more for your summer reading
 
The Republicans’ best choice for 2016
 
The South is a dilemma for both parties
 
Would a Shirley Temple help?
 
Saying thanks is not enough
 
North Carolina is 'Variety Literatureland'
 
 
 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site