This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > one on one

One on One

Page 1 of 16     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

From ash pond, to river, to your bloodstreamFrom ash pond, to river, to your bloodstream
[Apr. 11, 2014] When you have finished drinking this bottle of water, fill it with our tap water for liquid refreshment that tastes as good and is just as pure as what was in the bottle. That was the message from the City of Wilmington’s proud and professional public utilities department at an event celebrating one of its enlightened water quality improvement projects a few years ago. Their message still hits home with me. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Be proud of the way you talkBe proud of the way you talk
[Apr. 8, 2014] You sure do talk funny. Has anybody ever told you that? If you grew up in North Carolina and moved somewhere else for a while, you surely got that kind of question from folks who just had to laugh when they heard you talk. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Documenting Down East’s disappearing way of lifeDocumenting Down East’s disappearing way of life
[Mar. 3, 2014] “Down East” in North Carolina does not mean what you think it means. Larry Earley, former editor of “Wildlife in North Carolina” magazine and author of “Looking for Longleaf: The Fall and Rise of an American Forest,” moved to the community of Atlantic in 2006 to live one week a month while photographing the working boats of Core Sound. He learned from his neighbors that “‘Down East’ North Carolina refers to the wet peninsula lying east of Beaufort, in coastal Carteret County, with its broad skies, extravagant marshes, shallow sounds, and notched bays.” By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Truth in fiction — How bad did the recession hurt?Truth in fiction — How bad did the recession hurt?
[Mar. 1, 2014] The good news for all of us in North Carolina is that the unemployment rate is declining and the increase in economic activity is opening up new jobs to replace some of those we lost during the recession. The bad news is that some North Carolinians are never going to recover from the disruption the financial crisis caused their career paths. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Planting native, saving our diversityPlanting native, saving our diversity
[Feb. 28, 2014] First question for you, says UNC-TV's “Exploring North Carolina” host, Tom Earnhardt, when he begins his talk to a Rotary club or other civic group, is, how many of you have spare parts somewhere in your body? By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Adventure and history on a trip down the Cape FearAdventure and history on a trip down the Cape Fear
[Jan. 31, 2014] What could you learn from a trip down the Cape Fear River? Starting, say at a few miles below Jordan Lake where Haw River joins Deep River to form the Cape Fear, canoeing downstream and passing by Raven Rock State Park before reaching the bridge at Lillington, getting through three sets of dams and locks, all the way to Fayetteville. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Remembering Franklin McCain fondlyRemembering Franklin McCain fondly
[Jan. 16, 2014] When Franklin McCain died last week, I remembered how often his acts and his words inspired me. McCain was one of the four North Carolina A&T State University students who first sat down in 1960 at the Woolworth lunch counter in Greensboro and quietly asked to be served, sparking a wave of sit-ins across the country. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Spencer proves 90 is new 60Spencer proves 90 is new 60
[Jan. 7, 2014] Famed Chapel Hill author Elizabeth Spencer has proved a North Carolina rule again. “Ninety is the new 60.” Or 50. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
How we got where we are at in North Carolina politicsHow we got where we are at in North Carolina politics
[Jan. 3, 2014] Are you missing the right gifts for some important people on your shopping list? There is help from some of the best and most popular North Carolina-connected storytellers, whose new books might be lifesavers for you. And your gift recipient can watch the author talk about the book in the next few weeks on UNC-TV’s North Carolina Bookwatch Sundays at noon and Thursdays at 5 p.m. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
New books for Christmas giving and viewingNew books for Christmas giving and viewing
[Dec. 20, 2013] Are you missing the right gifts for some important people on your shopping list? There is help from some of the best and most popular North Carolina-connected storytellers, whose new books might be lifesavers for you. And your gift recipient can watch the author talk about the book in the next few weeks on UNC-TV’s North Carolina Bookwatch Sundays at noon and Thursdays at 5 p.m. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Who can forget?Who can forget?
[Dec. 12, 2013] Where were you when you heard that President Kennedy had been shot? Most Americans who were alive on Friday afternoon, November 22, 1963, can tell you exactly where they were and what they were doing when they got the awful news. For others, the question is as puzzling as a question about President William McKinley’s assassination in 1901 would have been to us in the 1960s. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
A better way in Germany in terms of politics?A better way in Germany in terms of politics?
[Dec. 11, 2013] Should we look to Germany for a better way to organize our government? Our parents and grandparents from the “Greatest Generation” would be shocked at the idea that the country they fought so hard to defeat would have the kind of representative and effective government that any American would want to copy. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Celebrating North Carolina’s Nelson Mandela’sCelebrating North Carolina’s Nelson Mandela’s
[Dec. 10, 2013] Nelson Mandela’s death last week at the age of 95 prompted a worldwide celebration of his life. The attention to him these past few days is testimony to the power of his wise and unselfish leadership. Mandela’s example was transformative. Not just for South Africa, but for our state and for the entire world. Not just for the time of his country’s changes, but for our time and for all time. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Where is Waldo? Where is Wolfe?Where is Waldo? Where is Wolfe?
[Dec. 9, 2013] Do people in North Carolina remember Thomas Wolfe, their once famous son, author of “Look Homeward Angel,” whose books helped many of us get through the transformation from childhood to adulthood and opened the door to an appreciation of fine writing? Do his words still inspire new writers to open their mental guts and spill out their words and stories? By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine
 
Climbing a new mountain peakClimbing a new mountain peak
[Nov. 14, 2013] “Life is like a mountain range,” Ping Fu told a group of UNC-Chapel Hill students last week. Fu is the founder of Geomagic, Inc., which developed the computer code that made 3-D printing possible. Earlier this year she sold Geomagic to Spartanburg, S. C., based 3D Systems Corp., a manufacturer of 3-D printing machines, for a reported $55 million. By D. G. Martin
Also: NC Book Watch
Also: Our State Magazine

Page 1 of 16     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site