This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > in my opinion

In My Opinion

Page 5 of 11     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

Education is our issueEducation is our issue
[Jun. 7, 2011] Democrats have had control of "Education" in North Carolina and treated it as if it were their sacred cow. Enough is enough! They haven't done a great job, and as far as we're concerned it is OUR issue now. By Cathy Wright
 
We must care about the Chatham County SchoolsWe must care about the Chatham County Schools
[Jun. 7, 2011] The core business of our schools is educating students. On average, the test scores in Chatham County are within a few points of the state average. Last year, about 71% of our students in grades 3-8 were on grade level in reading and 80.4% in math. Our graduation rate equaled that of the state at 74.2%. That means one in four of our county’s students don’t graduate from high school. That's not good enough. Too many of our kids are getting a poor education. By Mia Munn
 
Debunking the misinformation about Chatham County's K-8 fundingDebunking the misinformation about Chatham County's K-8 funding
[Apr. 6, 2011] I have repeatedly seen erroneous information about how 'overfunded' the K-8 schools are in Chatham County. I've even heard them referred to as 'boutique schools', which makes me wonder what boutiques these people frequent. Please look at the facts before making these blanket statements. By Cali Downs
 
SOS: A call to action to Save Our SchoolsSOS: A call to action to Save Our Schools
[Feb. 24, 2011] Our school system, like our nation, state, county, and individual households, is facing difficult decisions concerning next year’s budget. I am writing to ask you to advocate for budget cuts in the Chatham County Schools that will have the least impact to the students in our schools. I will give you a little context, and then my suggestions. I’ve been told that this is too long and too detailed. I know that it is more than you probably want to know. Please take this as it is, an outpouring of my concern for our school system. I hope you will take the time to read my missive. By Mia Munn
 
Little doubt that Western Wake Partners will be able to get the state legislature to force the waste water project throughLittle doubt that Western Wake Partners will be able to get the state legislature to force the waste water project through
[Feb. 21, 2011] There’s been a lot of discussion about the Western Wake Partners (WWP) waste water treatment plant to be built in New Hill and the discharge line to the Cape Fear below Buckhorn Dam in Chatham County. The simple answer is that our BOC should just say “No!” to protect the property owners and the community that would be affected by the line. Opponents fear not only the direct affects of the line but also future expansion of Cary and Apex into Chatham County. They see this as a repetition of past abuse by larger entities at their expense, especially the creation of Jordan Lake. They believe that by saying no we can stop this project and protect Chatham County from further encroachment. Unfortunately, looking at the history and scope of this project I’m afraid that’s a very naïve belief. By Donna Kelly
 
We need to try to make budget cuts that will have the least long-term effects on the fewest studentsWe need to try to make budget cuts that will have the least long-term effects on the fewest students
[Feb. 14, 2011] As the tough budget discussions begin, I ask that you all keep your eyes on the principle of openness. I believe that all of us are wiser than just a few of us. Sharing information and making it easy for the public to use the information available leads to better questions and better solutions. Being open and transparent will help the community buy into the difficult decisions that have to be made. By Mia Munn
 
We need to look at every possible Chatham County school budget solutionWe need to look at every possible Chatham County school budget solution
[Feb. 14, 2011] I know this is a difficult budget year. Whether or not the school board decides to reconfigure the schools, they will need to make significant cuts. If I am critical of the alternatives being proposed, I think it is fair to expect me to come up with alternatives. Below are concrete suggestions I have received from teachers in the Chatham County schools who do not feel comfortable speaking up in public and from other sources, as well as my own ideas. By Mia Munn
 
No statistical data to back up Chatham school reorganization plansNo statistical data to back up Chatham school reorganization plans
[Feb. 11, 2011] Here is a copy of an email I sent to Mr. Robert Logan and the school board requesting some changes to the "facts" that he is presenting on Monday night. I find it interesting that he sent out an email to all of the teachers stating that he didn't want to hear this become about 'one school being better than the other' and then in his presentation he plans to state that in Chatham County "middle schools, our students become more prepared for the transition to high school". Isn't that a bit of an insult to the K-8 middle school teachers? By John Pickett
 
It is irresponsible for the Chatham school board to make a decision about school reorganization without considering capital costsIt is irresponsible for the Chatham school board to make a decision about school reorganization without considering capital costs
[Feb. 11, 2011] I am concerned that Chatham County school superintendent Robert Logan is asking the school board to make a decision about school reorganization without considering the capital cost of that decision. On page 2 of the School Organization topic, Mr. Logan says in his introduction, "In sum, the attached proposal would result in a recurring savings of $511,000.00 to the annual current expense budget of the school system." By Mia Munn
 
Why can't the Chatham School Board make a serious effort to listen to parents?Why can't the Chatham School Board make a serious effort to listen to parents?
[Feb. 11, 2011] Hi, all, I'm a grandparent in Chatham, not a parent, but I have worked as a poet-in-residence at Moncure (6-7-8th grades), in Silk Hope (7th), in Virginia Cross (3rd). I care about all these children, and I'm very impressed with the educational experiences I've witnessed, especially in Moncure's middle-schoolers, where they paid me very complete attention, and wrote thoughtful, imaginative poetry. By Judy Hogan
 
Western Wake Partners have other options than running a discharge line through Chatham CountyWestern Wake Partners have other options than running a discharge line through Chatham County
[Feb. 9, 2011] My name is Sam Cherry and I am writing you to ask for you to indulge me just a moment. My hope for you is to see the injustice that large intergovernmental entities can inflict on the common citizen. My desire is for Western Wake Partners (WWP) and the Chatham County Commissioners to respect the law in the discharge of their duties. Now I know you may think that you do not have a dog in this fight, but you do. As a citizen in the greatest nation on earth you have the inalienable right to due process under the law. By Sam Cherry
 
Western Wake Partners present Chatham County with a lifetime opportunityWestern Wake Partners present Chatham County with a lifetime opportunity
[Feb. 8, 2011] The Chatham County Board of Commissioners will held a public comment session at the February 7 meeting in Moncure, NC. I knew that several opinions would be expressed against the project, just as they were for improvements to US Highway 64. These opinions are equivalent to spitting into hurricane Fran when population growth and development are imminent and Chatham touts its pleasant rural lifestyle to newcomers. By Tom Glendinning
 
Chatham Schools reorganization plan is a bad idea for our childrenChatham Schools reorganization plan is a bad idea for our children
[Feb. 6, 2011] To the Chatham County Schools Superintendent Robert Logan. What is the hidden agenda? What do you intend to accomplish by eliminating a highly functional K-8 program and disrupting our kids’ education as well as our communities? If cost savings is the goal, make available to the public, cost/benefit analysis, with multiple options showing all money gained and lost and allow the public adequate time to review and respond. It appears to most of us that your proposed redistricting plan will be more costly as opposed to saving money as has been claimed. Substantiate the claims. By Jeff Johnson
 
Empirical evidence suggests that the K-8 school option is the smarter choice for childrenEmpirical evidence suggests that the K-8 school option is the smarter choice for children
[Jan. 31, 2011] There is a proposal to reorganize the Chatham County Schools to eliminate the five existing K-8 schools so all students in the county would attend an elementary (K-5) school and then a middle (6-8) school. Two K-8 schools, Perry Harrison and North Chatham, became K-5 now that Pollard Middle School has opened. The central responsibility of schools is to effectively educate their students, so it is reasonable to look at the achievement of our schools before making any changes. By Mia Munn
 
Chatham residents are tired of political gestures and we want real resultsChatham residents are tired of political gestures and we want real results
[Jan. 16, 2011] Paul Caudros says that eliminating the Human Relations Director position was nothing more than politics because people were angry about the passage of the 287g immigration law enforcement resolution. He points out that the resolution carried no authority and only the sheriff could seek to implement the program. Doesn’t that mean that the resolution was passed solely for political reasons? Did the former board buy the support of a certain constituency with a meaningless resolution? Was the creation of the Human Relations Director position just more of the same? By Donna Kelly

Page 5 of 11     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site