This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > in my opinion

In My Opinion

Page 4 of 11     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

Occupy Wall Street, a good idea gone horribly wrongOccupy Wall Street, a good idea gone horribly wrong
[Nov. 14, 2011] My first impression of "Occupy Wall Street" was that this was a group of people who weren’t even sure why they were protesting. However, after filtering out the “noise” I was able to discern a common thread; a frustration with government bailouts. Frustration with spending billions on private companies while executives are still being paid handsomely. I thought to myself, Right on! I and my fellow conservatives have been lamenting these bailouts and subsidies for years. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
"Gasland" is a fraud and the discussion in Chatham about gas drilling has surpassed it's usefulness"Gasland" is a fraud and the discussion in Chatham about gas drilling has surpassed it's usefulness
[Nov. 10, 2011] The discussion about gas drilling is basically good for information gathering, if, and only if, the comments are made based on sound evidence. This discussion in Chatham has surpassed the its usefulness. The Board of Commissioners has no sway whatsoever in the regulation of or enforcement of the practice. Any further comments at Board of Commissioners meetings are simply an exercise in futility and ego feeding, or the need to be in the spotlight. By Tom Glendinning
 
Vance Remick addresses concerns about the Pittsboro General Store CafeVance Remick addresses concerns about the Pittsboro General Store Cafe
[Oct. 13, 2011] First and foremost, I wish to apologize for any problems our customers may have faced over the last few months while dining at the Pittsboro General Store Cafe. We do hear you and we are addressing all of your issues. We do care about service and our food and hope that you will call or e-mail me any time if you have not had a good experience here at the GSC. By Vance Remick
 
Gas drilling - a short explanation and suggestions for regulationGas drilling - a short explanation and suggestions for regulation
[Sep. 12, 2011] Gas drilling has become a highly contested issue for central North Carolina counties in 2011. The legislature passed bills allowing drilling and changes in regulation, SB 709 and SB 781, which were vetoed, and the vetoes overridden. HB242 passed easily. A roving debate invades newspapers, television, county commissions, and barber shop international policy bodies all over the state. By Tom Glendinning
 
Phobia Factorum in Erratum
[Sep. 12, 2011] Tim Keim wrote an interesting column about Chatham County entitled “Welcome to Facto Phobia”. In it he claims that opposition to including the county’s Environmental Review Board (ERB) in the planning review process is due to naked prejudice against the purpose of the ERB and an unwillingness to learn about possible risks to the environment. By Donna Kelly
 
Even populations and compact boundaries are important concerns in redistrictingEven populations and compact boundaries are important concerns in redistricting
[Jul. 19, 2011] When it comes to redistricting my most important concerns are even populations and boundaries as compact as possible. While it’s important to have representation from each part of the county, currently reflected by residency in separate districts, it’s more important for commissioners to base all decisions on what is best for the county as a whole. This is best reflected by countywide elections. On most issues there is a wide diversity of opinion spread throughout the county so I don’t think any true representation by districts is possible on those issues. All concerns do need to be addressed and balanced as much as possible but commissioners shouldn’t make decisions based on what’s best for their district if it’s at the expense of the rest of the county. By Donna Kelly
 
Response to anti-fracking environmental arguments: It’s a matter of proportion and dilutionResponse to anti-fracking environmental arguments: It’s a matter of proportion and dilution
[Jul. 10, 2011] The Chatham County Online Bulletin Board Service has a detailed, high quality debate on fracking issues. Several issues are discussed following the announcement of the NC Cooperative Extension Service program on gas right leasing options. Event will start at 6:30pm on July 19, 2011 at the Chatham County Agricultural Extension Center in Pittsboro. It should be worthwhile. By Tom Glendinning
 
Gas drilling in Chatham and Lee Counties will produce a sound futureGas drilling in Chatham and Lee Counties will produce a sound future
[Jul. 8, 2011] By 2035, the US will have the opportunity to produce from energy sources within its boundaries. Shale oil and gas will be economically produced and an important part of energy security policy. Shale gas reserves can supply the country well into this century with little dependence on foreign sources. Local supply will be critical to North Carolina’s economic survival during this period. Shale gas drilling will make prices stable and low compared to areas where there is no drilling or supply. By Tom Glendinning
 
One nation under God?One nation under God?
[Jul. 4, 2011] Recently, there has been a good deal of controversy in the United States over a U.S. Court of Appeal’s ruling that it is unconstitutional for public school teachers to lead their students in the Pledge of Allegiance due to the phrase in the pledge, “one nation, under God.” This has long been controversial for both believers and unbelievers alike. In fact, most of the opposition to this phrase has traditionally come from Christians whose beliefs do not allow them to pledge allegiance to any nation, or for whom, “one nation, under God” conflicts with their doctrinal beliefs. By Richie Temple
 
Haw River water quality continues to improveHaw River water quality continues to improve
[Jun. 25, 2011] Debates on recent changes in Chatham County bureaucracy raise the question of the actual state of the water in the Haw River. Considering the alarmist warnings that the changes will degrade water quality, the future promises to continue the improvements seen over the past twenty years. Pittsboro, the first user of drinking water on the river, has clean treated water. If its water quality is compromised, the town quickly and honestly notifies its residents and secures a solution. By Tom Glendinning
 
Long time citizens seek to preserve the heritage of Chatham CountyLong time citizens seek to preserve the heritage of Chatham County
[Jun. 24, 2011] There was a speaker recently at a board of commissioners meeting that made a statement reminding the Commissioners to remember that they represent all the citizens of Chatham County. I found this an interesting statement since I am pretty confident that this individual felt the previous Board of Commissioners did represent all the citizens of Chatham. By Gina Dye
 
I put faith and trust in my elected officials to pass laws and regulations to protect our waterI put faith and trust in my elected officials to pass laws and regulations to protect our water
[Jun. 24, 2011] I find it unconscionable that Commissioners Brian Bock, Walter Petty and Pam Stewart voted to eliminate the Environmental Resource Position and Green Building Staff in the Budget by their 3 to 2 vote. A very hasty decision was made by them with no afterthought of the consequences including canceling the remaining budget work sessions. By Rita Cileo
 
Chatham commissioner Sally Kost's intimidation tactics discourage citizen inputChatham commissioner Sally Kost's intimidation tactics discourage citizen input
[Jun. 24, 2011] I want to speak to the issue of citizen input. In recent decisions made by our Board of Commissioners, there have been multiple opportunities for citizen input; in fact, some would say more opportunities than there ever have been. Thanks to our Board of Commissioners who are hearing all citizens, and even when you are not in agreement, thank you for respecting citizens‘ positions. Thank you for always treating your fellow commissioners with dignity and respect, even though you don‘t always agree. By Heather Johnson
 
We need more public inputWe need more public input
[Jun. 24, 2011] I guess I should not be surprised how this board approved the budget last week. I am just very disappointed. By cutting short the work sessions, this board eliminated the opportunity for more public input. You know, you might have learned something. This action along with comments like the one Brian Bock made at May 2 board of commissioners' meeting about the uselessness of resolutions by this board to the State is disturbing. By Peter Theye
 
Progressive special interest groups do not represent the will of ordinary Chatham citizensProgressive special interest groups do not represent the will of ordinary Chatham citizens
[Jun. 24, 2011] I have not had my ear to the ground recently, being focused on lobbying the Raleigh legislature before crossover on June 9 that I have left my rear in the air as a target and neglected to catch how the progressive groups are attempting to intimidate the commissioners with large numbers and drowning out common sense. By Randy Dye

Page 4 of 11     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site