This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > in my opinion

In My Opinion

Page 2 of 11     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

The knives come out for Carol FoltThe knives come out for Carol Folt
[Jan. 25, 2014] A letter to the editor on Tuesday in the Daily Tar Heel does not pull its punches in describing Chancellor Folt’s disseminating: Carol Folt’s message addressed to the Carolina community is dangerously misleading. The first paragraph belittles the scandal by using past investigations and changes to placate critics. The second paragraph shows the University’s commitment to denial and half-truths. By Joe Asch
Also: Dartblog.com
Also: How Carol Folt works
 
The Carol Folt playbookThe Carol Folt playbook
[Jan. 21, 2014] In the UNC’s Mary Willingham student-athlete-literacy scandal, people at Dartmouth recognize that Chancellor Carol Folt is working from her usual playbook. Rather than facing serious revelations head on, she is yet again just running a PR damage control effort. Here's how it works: first the administration ignores the problem; then it denies that the problem even exists, a denial that is wrapped in laudatory remarks about the institution; and then a full-on offensive aims to discredit and punish the whistleblower. By Joe Asch
Also: Dartblog.com
Also: How Carol Folt works
 
Academics’ call for secrecy would undermine democracy in North CarolinaAcademics’ call for secrecy would undermine democracy in North Carolina
[Dec. 17, 2013] Civitas Institute President Francis X. De Luca has released the following statement in response to the “open letter” sent to Gov. Pat McCrory and state budget director Art Pope. The letter is signed by nearly 300 academics and criticizes a basic public records request made by the Civitas Institute of a public employee.
 
Arguments about Chatham Park are the same as those about Fearrington in the 1970sArguments about Chatham Park are the same as those about Fearrington in the 1970s
[Nov. 14, 2013] The various comments on Chatham Park, its development and planning are inspiring. A wide range of perspectives offer better understanding of the process. Al Cooke described a very broad picture and time line in his Chatlist post today. I am grateful for his comments. There are, obviously, people who do not want it in Pittsboro or in Chatham. As Al pointed out, he is surprised that we are not already developed in a fashion similar to Cary and Apex. I recall the debates about Fearrington when it was started in the late 1970's. I find it humorous that the same arguments were used then as today. It is too large. There will be too many people. They aren’t like us. The traffic will be a problem not solved by our roads and highways. By Tom Glendinning
 
Growth around Pittsboro will happen with a plan, with multiple small plans, or without any plan at allGrowth around Pittsboro will happen with a plan, with multiple small plans, or without any plan at all
[Nov. 7, 2013] I have been observing the process of Chatham Park for more than five years, which makes me wonder why all the discussion only now. It seems to bring out more heat than light. Perhaps I've just been in place to have more opportunity to notice what's going on. But I can look at a map of North Carolina and find Raleigh. It's bigger than is used to be. And I can find Apex that was once a small rural town as was Cary before it. The only surprise for me will be if in 30 years Pittsboro and surrounding areas are not similarly developed. As Dr. Dykers suggests, it's a population issue. By Al Cooke
 
Chatham Park - The proving ground of the republic versus regionalismChatham Park - The proving ground of the republic versus regionalism
[Sep. 17, 2013] Last month's installment of "progressivethinking"inthe Indy Week containsthe article "Chatham Park:jumping the shark?" Panning the planning already investedinthe finest and largest development Chatham County will see, the editorial and political views are transparent. By Tom Glendinning
 
Special interest groups ignore educationSpecial interest groups ignore education
[Aug. 19, 2013] There are some dishonest but powerful special interests in Raleigh who are forgetting what our public schools are all about. Instead of focusing on the kids, they’re focusing on one thing: money for their union members. By Phil Berger
 
Hoodwinking education — Lies continueHoodwinking education — Lies continue
[Aug. 16, 2013] With a wink and a nod, the left-wing media continues to help push the deceptive agenda of the teachers union (NCAE) in the Tar Heel State. It is readily apparent that neither the NCAE nor the media support real educational reform in North Carolina. The original lie touted by the NCAE was that Republicans were firing thousands of teachers and cutting the education budget. After being forced to retract those fabrications, a new falsehood has emerged By Thom Goolsby
 
North Carolina K-12 education cuts: Outright liesNorth Carolina K-12 education cuts: Outright lies
[Aug. 7, 2013] Vladimir Lenin said, “A lie told often enough becomes the truth.” Professional educrats (education bureaucrats) and their buddies in the mainstream media have taken this quote to heart. Before Republicans passed the recent state budget, pundits on the Left had been screaming for weeks that spending on K-12 education was being cut by hundreds of millions of dollars. Here is just a little fact check for those who live in reality: Republicans increased North Carolina K-12 education funding by almost five percent or $361,407,582. By Thom Goolsby
 
‘Moron Monday’ Remarks Way Off Base‘Moron Monday’ Remarks Way Off Base
[Jul. 10, 2013] Several weeks ago I penned a column where I referred to the weekly protests by political leftists at the General Assembly as “Moron Monday.” I was completely off base and now realize my mistake. With the latest revelations from the Civitas Institute, I should have referred to the demonstrations as “Money Monday.” Researchers at Civitas have spent many weeks compiling flowcharts and tracing money flows not only to Reverend William Barber’s groups (receiving over $1 million a year from state coffers), but also to allied organizations that have raked in $100+ million from the North Carolina Treasury in the last few years. By Thom Goolsby
 
When laws and regulations are made without sound basis something is wrongWhen laws and regulations are made without sound basis something is wrong
[Jun. 21, 2013] In Chatham Chatlist number 4608, there were three posts in response to comments I made last April. I am greatly flattered to draw the views of a very successful local entrepreneur, Lyle Estill. By Tom Glendinning
 
Hillsboro Street potholes could have been prevented by proper compactionHillsboro Street potholes could have been prevented by proper compaction
[Jun. 20, 2013] The Hillsboro Street water line is an infrastructure improvement that has been needed for a long time. I applaud the town for replacing this old line. My only complaint about the work is the poor compaction after each night’s shift and the consequences on road condition. By Tom Glendinning
 
The Jordan Lake rules are the bestThe Jordan Lake rules are the best
[Jun. 17, 2013] I was involved with the establishment of the Jordan Lake rules to a degree. I attended stakeholder meetings and commented with legislators present before its passage. As a founder and past-president of the Haw River Assembly, as author and director of the "Haw River Drinking Water Survey, 1985," I had a stake in this rule and in the water quality of the Haw River. The Bynum cancer studies pointed to a drinking water problem. By Tom Glendinning
 
Moron Monday shows radical Left just doesn’t get itMoron Monday shows radical Left just doesn’t get it
[Jun. 7, 2013] The circus came to the State Capitol this week, complete with clowns, a carnival barker and a sideshow. Several hundred people – mostly white, angry, aged former hippies – appeared and screeched into microphones, talked about solidarity and chanted diatribes. It was “liberal theater” at its best. By Thom Goolsby
 
Why ChathamArts is worthy of some county supportWhy ChathamArts is worthy of some county support
[May 23, 2013] My name is Gina Harrison. I’m an arts education advocate here in Chatham County—founding president of the NHS Arts Education Foundation, a board member of ArtsNC, and a volunteer serving on the Board of ChathamArts. I would like to suggest you consider a slightly different question tonight as you deliberate—Does the mission and do the activities of ChathamArts advance YOUR goals and objectives for our county now and could it be more effective in working together in the future? By Gina Harrison

Page 2 of 11     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site