This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > letters to the editor

Letters to the Editor

Page 5 of 5     1 2 3 4 5

Fair judgement
[Apr. 3, 2006] I had to mention a little about one of our candidates for Judge. Allen Baddour was my ex wife's attorney several years ago. With that in mind consider what I'm going to tell you. By Mark Stinson
 
What's wrong with new conditional use hearing rulesWhat's wrong with new conditional use hearing rules
[Mar. 20, 2006] I read the posted new hearing rules and foresee a number of problems. By Liz Cullington
 
Chatham Voters Legal Defense Fund accepting donationsChatham Voters Legal Defense Fund accepting donations
[Mar. 2, 2006] I am asking you to pledge funds for a Chatham Voters Legal Defense Fund. We believe that laws were broken in the process of selecting new voting machines, and we are planning legal action. By John Bonitz
 
Cary votes NO to annexation into Chatham County
[Feb. 25, 2006] Grassroots Wins! A satellite annexation petition to include 45 acres on New Hope Church Road was denied by the Town of Cary last Thursday night. By Sally Kost
 
This election is not about "us" versus "them"This election is not about "us" versus "them"
[Nov. 3, 2005] An eleventh hour attack ad full of slanderous allegations was published in this week's Chatham/News Record. The ad was paid for by the Committee to Re-elect Chris Walker to the Town Board of Commissioners. The ad steals the platform of the grassroots citizen action group, Pittsboro Together, as his own and then makes up a series of obvious lies about that group's positions. Mr. Walker's ad calls the citizens' group a "special interest." By Jim Hinkley - Pittsboro Together Co-Chair
 
Public needs clarity on 10/70, zoning, and commercial planningPublic needs clarity on 10/70, zoning, and commercial planning
[Sep. 12, 2005] We still are treating every new commercial development individually as it comes along. When Chatham Downs was approved, Commissioner Morgan said that the County had not done the planning job for our commercial corridors that it should have, but that we should not penalize the developer because of this failure. By Robert Eby
 
Wal-Mart is appreciated by those on a tight budgetWal-Mart is appreciated by those on a tight budget
[Aug. 19, 2005] I am sure that both Jesus and MLK would have enjoyed a good bargain. Perhaps Jeffrey Starkweather is a millionaire Republican and can afford over priced items in a store. I am a person who lives on Social Security and a small pension who has to watch every penny I spend. By Ed Higgins
 
Haw River Assembly comments on NC strategy to protect Jordan LakeHaw River Assembly comments on NC strategy to protect Jordan Lake
[Jul. 7, 2005] The Haw River Assembly, and the co-signers to this letter (NC PIRG, the Southern Environmental Law Center, Environmental Defense, and NC Conservation Network) support the "B. Everett Jordan Reservoir, North Carolina Nutrient Management Strategy and Total Maximum Daily Load" Public Review Draft (April 2005), developed by the NC Division of Water Quality. We believe that the state must act now to protect Jordan Lake from excess nitrogen and phosphorus loading from wastewater treatment plants and run-off. By Elaine Chiosso
Also: Haw River Assembly
 
Mon petit biciclette accidenteMon petit biciclette accidente
[Jun. 20, 2005] I was biking down to Pittsboro Saturday morning to help with a Habitat for Humanity building project through United Church of Chapel Hill. I went through Chapel Hill and down Smith Level to 15-501. I wouldn't normally ride on 15-501 at all, but I figured that south of Smith Level Road at 8am on a Saturday it wouldn't be too bad. In fact, traffic wasn't bad and usually there was a bit of a shoulder to ride on. By Drew Cummings
 
It's time to step up! Your help is needed!It's time to step up! Your help is needed!
[Apr. 10, 2005] Your support of HB 1062: Orange/Chatham County Transfer Taxes bill is imperative to ensure we (Chatham County) can provide the infrastructure and capital improvements required to accommodate our growth, insure our building industry remains healthy and keep our taxes down. By Mike Cross
Also: Mike Cross' Weblog
 
Mike Cross and "THE VOTE"Mike Cross and "THE VOTE"
[Feb. 22, 2005] Here is the congratulatory letter I wrote to Mike Cross after the election. I actively supported and led the Wilkie Campaign but as noted Mike and I are neighbors and have worked together quite a bit in the past. Mike is a good man and made the right vote. Newland did everything asked of it by the county and more. Now the folks that kept wanting to change the rules as they went along are all riled against Mike. I now have more respet for Mike than ever for his vote was not bought. Based on the proposals brought by Newland as it compared to current county regulations he had to make that vote. I now find my letter to be quite prophetic. By Ken Harris
 
School sending wrong message to kidsSchool sending wrong message to kids
[Jul. 28, 2004] After exhausted efforts with Mr. Mabe and the school board our child was evicted from his school for which he had attended from Pre-K to the third grade. We did the right thing to fill out the transfer waiver forms and even pleaded our case with the school board to keep our child at Perry Harrison School. By Robin Sandborg
 
Chatham Board of Education candidate asks for support
[Jul. 17, 2004] My name is Holly Duncan and I am running for the District Two seat on the Board of Education. I have taught in the NC school system for nearly 4 years and over 2 years were spent in the Chatham County School System at Pittsboro Elementary School. As an educator and a former Chatham County teacher, I have witnessed firsthand the challenges facing our educators and believe that I can help improve our school system. By Holly Duncan
 
Commissioners gut Compact Communities Ordinance
[Apr. 20, 2004] I had to laugh at the assertion by Chatham County Commissioner and former businessman Tommy Emerson that the recently approved Compact Communities Ordinance will "prove good...for the quality of life" for local citizens. It's too bad the Board of Commissioners completely ignored the input from these same citizens during the public hearing phase. By James A. McGurk

Page 5 of 5     1 2 3 4 5

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site