This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 1 of 46     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

Jeff Starkweather's framily is suing Pittsboro over Chatham ParkJeff Starkweather's framily is suing Pittsboro over Chatham Park
[Aug. 26, 2014] Looks like the former leader of the Chatham Coalition hate group, Jeffrey Starkweather has filed a lawsuit against Chatham Park and the town of Pittsboro. According to the court filing, here is a list of Jeff Starkweather's framily that is suing Pittsboro over Chatham Park By Tom West
 
Record shows that Sally Kost believed one commissioner meeting per month would be better than twoRecord shows that Sally Kost believed one commissioner meeting per month would be better than two
[Aug. 24, 2014] From John Graybeal's Chatham Chatlist #5015 post: "One wonders whether these activities explain why these commissioners decided one meeting each month would be better than two." I've copied the minutes from the County BOC budget retreat on January 19th below. It's pretty clear who wanted the change. By Heather Johnson
 
The truth about arts funding in Chatham CountyThe truth about arts funding in Chatham County
[Aug. 23, 2014] I can appreciate that there is frustration that the Chatham Arts Council is not government funded. It's just that Brian Bock, Pam Stewart and Walter Petty campaigned and have governed on three guiding priorities: Public Safety, Education and Public Health. The Commissioners chose to fund a new women's shelter because our women and children in danger in Chatham County need a safe place to live when they are in crisis. We also needed to fund teachers in Chatham County. Did you know that Chatham County is the only county in the state to locally fund teachers due to shortfalls coming down from the state and federal government? If the commissioners didn't have strict priorities we wouldn't have this funding and our students would lose out. Education would suffer. By Heather Johnson
 
Dead trees at Jordan Lake are an example of nature and human engineering at oddsDead trees at Jordan Lake are an example of nature and human engineering at odds
[Aug. 14, 2014] The dead trees at Jordan Lake are an example of nature and human engineering at odds. A “natural” cause if there ever was one. The area of which you speak is called a sub-impoundment. Several waterfowl sub-impoundments were constructed to replace the habitat and hunting opportunities that were lost when the reservoir flooded the Cape Fear River Basin. This sub-impoundment is connected to the main lake by a culvert that passes under highway 64 By Megan Lynch
 
Four Pinocchios! Former Chatham Commissioner Sally Kost is caught lying once againFour Pinocchios! Former Chatham Commissioner Sally Kost is caught lying once again
[Aug. 11, 2014] Former Chatham County Commissioner and Chatham Coalition member Sally Kost has exhibited a persistent habit of trying to redo the "truth" to meet her political agenda. In fact these attempts by Sally Kost to rewrite the "truth" have been going on for years. To paraphrase Jack Nicholas from "A Few Good Men" - Sally Kost can't handle the truth! By Tom West
 
Chatham Park can not be anything like a sequel to Research Triangle ParkChatham Park can not be anything like a sequel to Research Triangle Park
[Aug. 4, 2014] I do not really have an opinion about the Chatham Park development, as I know our rural, agricultural, and mostly bucolic county is already experiencing the indicators of ugly little developments all over the county that doom us to a future of identity-less suburban transformation. I prefer planned development, and just wish that our county leaders had developed a real land use plan of our own decades ago, instead of leaving it to the profit-makers who don't care as we do about the nature of the county or keeping its North Carolina flavor.
 
Political affiliation and surveysPolitical affiliation and surveys
[Aug. 4, 2014] Tom Glendenning, you are welcome to send me your survey of non-affiliated voters. But chances are good that the same impulses that lead me to not affiliate with a political party also inform my reluctance to complete a survey. Decades ago I was subjected to a well respected personality inventory. Many of the questions were of the type that asked if I would prefer to be a doctor or a carpenter. The only answer I could imagine to be close to the truth was “no.†That answer was not an option. By Al Cooke
 
Congratulations to Chatham commissioners for passing budget that does not raise tax ratesCongratulations to Chatham commissioners for passing budget that does not raise tax rates
[Jun. 18, 2014] Dear Brian Bock, Congratulations to you personally for such a well written post to the Chatlist, and to you and all the county commissioners for a budget paying for the most important matters, education, sewage, health dept. police, et al and keeping the tax rate from worsening for property owners. That, in itself, will attract new people, money, talent and business to the county, assuming this is desireable and inevitable! You have a difficult and complex and demanding task, and you do it well. By John R Dykers
 
Pittsboro Matters continues with scare tactics and bullying about Chatham ParkPittsboro Matters continues with scare tactics and bullying about Chatham Park
[Jun. 8, 2014] I was counting the people who were pro-park and my numbers came out at 40 for the Park, 25 against but would consider it with with changes, and five who say save the trees or no one should build. Where do you get two-thirds who support the eight conditions? I'm tired of reading your scare tactics and bullying. Some of your members are from the same group who opposed the four lane by scaring people saying Pittsboro will become desolate. The same group who said they didn't want the power plant in Chatham County so they moved it just over the Chatham County line into Lee County. By Donna Bianca
 
Let's pass a noise ordinance so no one can burp or fart because the sound offends someoneLet's pass a noise ordinance so no one can burp or fart because the sound offends someone
[May 3, 2014] There are sides to any issue but this one is close to me on both sides. I appreciate The Goathouse Cat Refuge for what it does for animals. I also am a big second amendment supporter. Let me voice my opinion carefully. I had a friend with a collie and a big furry orange cat who moved into New York for a years worth of training. The first week the dog didn't eat and the cat retreated into the closet from all the loud noises in the new environment. He had a small balcony and neither animal would even venture near the open door to peek out. He said the trains shook the building, there was occasional gunfire, cars back firing, construction noises and the roar of the city's inhabitants constantly moving. By Mark Stinson
 
Population of Chatham County doubled in the last thirty years and you were a part of that growthPopulation of Chatham County doubled in the last thirty years and you were a part of that growth
[Apr. 28, 2014] I find that you have eaten of the fruit of the last damn Yankee tree, and you wish to shut the door so no more may intrude. The fine people who welcomed me to Chatham 45 years ago were friendly, open and did not fear newcomers. That is the main reason I moved here. In the next thirty years, as I have said before, the projections of population growth for Chatham exceed the number of residents of Chatham Park. By Tom Glendinning
 
Everyone from top to bottom that supports Chatham Park is thinking with their walletsEveryone from top to bottom that supports Chatham Park is thinking with their wallets
[Apr. 28, 2014] I have been silent for several months in regard to the ongoing Chatham Park debate but find it impossible as a Chatham homeowner to be silent. I will start by echoing the sentiments of several others - I, like many others, chose to live in Pittsboro because it isn't Cary. The quesiton I keep asking myself is why would anyone move or stay in Pittsboro with the intent of terraforming it into a congested, cookie cutter world when you can easily just move to one that already exists. By James Stewart
 
Who will get Chatham Park construction jobs?Who will get Chatham Park construction jobs?
[Apr. 28, 2014] Chatham Park construction contracts will be let by "Chatham Park Investors (AKA Tim Smith and Bubba Rawls)" based on the vendors capacity to perform the service, personal relationships and knowledge of prior performance, and price. Builders and realtors locally will be competing in a global marketplace just as we are now. I know a local contractor who wins bids for major water and sewer work in Chapel Hill. So the conclusions of Chatham Matters are an opinion/educated guess?
 
What I Have Learned from the Chatham ChatlistWhat I Have Learned from the Chatham Chatlist
[Apr. 28, 2014] I was relieved to learn that Tom Glendenning feels the Chatlist is a viable place to share our opinions. That was a relief to me, since I was uptight about Cryptic's willingness to waste patchouli oil in his engine. I wasn't that worried about Taylor Kish. He runs around on welfare fuel, paid for by those of us who pay taxes. His fuel is subsidized by little things like war, health care, climate change and the like. His inability to string together a cohesive argument may be evidence of quaffing too many petroleum fumes. By Lyle Estill
 
Crayons and rednecksCrayons and rednecks
[Apr. 28, 2014] I read something on the Chatham Chatlist about crayons and rednecks. Facts were used in the process of making the post and after reading it I had to ponder on it a bit. I'm not sure what possessed the writer to write the post or what the point of it was unless it was a post to push the progressive movement ideology that basically takes everyone's individuality away making us all a bland bunch of conformist who have no mind or freedom of choice. By Mark Stinson

Page 1 of 46     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site