This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 1 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

D.O.T's shabby highway mowing
[Dec. 13, 2014] I watched highway 64 being built. Five nerve jangling years of digging, pushing, pulling, honking, burning, leveling, measuring and messing about. All for the perfect highway . Natural hills and slopes were cut away and replaced with 'more perfect' man made piles of dirt. Man made hills and slopes that would accommodate modern machinery and the overflow of rain water. The new highway also gave this area something along the roadside, from imported dirt, we never had before on the shoulders of the road- Fire ants, thistle and jimpson weed. By Thurman Maness
 
Broadband Service in Southeastern Chatham-HWY 902Broadband Service in Southeastern Chatham-HWY 902
[Dec. 5, 2014] Satellite and mobile connections are just not real solutions for broadband. After years of crying for broadband service in our area, we do have a provider who is willing to bring fiber to the home service along Hwy 902 from Harper's Crossroads to the Rocky River, and outlying roads. In a meeting with residents on September 25, 2014 Randolph Telephone Cooperative gave detailed information on their plans and gave residents a packet of information. What is needed is for homes along this corridor to make a commitment to take service. Randolph Telephone will extend service if they can get an average of one connection per thousand feet. By Marian Norton
 
Liberal Chatham School Board candidate Del Turner plays the race cardLiberal Chatham School Board candidate Del Turner plays the race card
[Oct. 30, 2014] Watch liberal school board candidate Del Turner play the race card towards the end of her presentation at the the Moncure candidates' forum. Del Turner says that she is the only "member of diversity" in this school board race. She goes on to say that "The most educated county in North Carolina, as you have been called in the newspaper. You want to keep people thinking that you are that by having a diverse board." By Tom West
Also: Video: Chatham School board candidate Del Turner plays the race card
 
Diana Hales' greatest accomplishment? Coming from California to get a husband!
[Oct. 26, 2014] I didn't believe this when I saw it, but liberal Diana Hales starts off her introduction at the candidates' forum in Pittsboro by claiming she came from Southern California to find a husband. And she did. (Nervous laughter from the crowd.) By Tom West
 
I would rather have legal immigrants as neighbors than those who choose to break our laws
[Oct. 16, 2014] I appreciate the time and effort Al Cooke put into his recent Chatham Chatlist post. While I empathize with poor Central Americans and their plight, I would rather have legal immigrants as neighbors than those who choose to break our laws By Tom Glendinning
 
Some of us don't pretendSome of us don't pretend
[Oct. 14, 2014] I read a recent Chatham Chatlist post that reminded me why I don't pretend. With that said, this is my opinion, so let's pretend things are different just to paint a rosy picture that goes both ways. Let's pretend voters didn't get so tired of tax increases and other B.S. that they didn't vote in the current board of commissioners. Let's pretend that the silent majority hadn't had enough of their tax dollars being wasted that they voted to remove those who didn't listen to what the majority wanted. Let's pretend one of the last commissioners didn't get thrown in jail. Let's pretend that no one will ever be held responsible for their actions or what they say. By Mark Stinson
 
Investing in forests, trees, etc.Investing in forests, trees, etc.
[Oct. 14, 2014] I am glad John Dykers mentioned the possibility that he might "replant with pines to send great grandchildren to school." The proper management he mentions is an investment as well as long term commitment. By Al Cooke
 
Feeling disenfranchised
[Oct. 5, 2014] This Labor Day, as my husband and I were driving by the McDonald’s on Lowe’s Drive in Pittsboro, we noticed that the American flag flying in front of the store was wrapped around the flagpole, as it had been for several days. I decided to call them to ask them to fix it. The store manager (whom I asked for) answered the telephone. I asked him if someone could fix the flag that was wrapped around the pole. He did not understand what I was saying, as apparently, he did not comprehend and speak English well enough to understand, “would you please have someone go out and untangle the American flag that is wrapped around your flagpole.” By Linda Bienvenue
 
Party line prejudices in Chatham CountyParty line prejudices in Chatham County
[Sep. 30, 2014] Well, I am glad to know someone caught me in the act. I am now prejudiced, uncompassionate, Hispanophobic, and, by inference, close-minded. Pardon me if I recount social history of Chatham County. I moved here fifty years ago and have seen too many changes to list. I have absorbed viewpoints with which I once disagreed, educated myself on the major movements of society, seen politics alter our lives, and have become friends with political foes of decades past. By Tom Glendinning
 
Red people? Blue people? What's the difference?Red people? Blue people? What's the difference?
[Sep. 17, 2014] In my near 50 years one thing that has always been crystal clear is that red people are Republican, blue people are Democrats. The red or mostly red with white and blue elephant represents the GOP. The blue or mostly blue with red and white donkey, ass, mule, whatever you prefer to call it represented Democrats. These are two set in stone facts so when election times came candidates from either party would use either the symbol or color of their respective parties so voters would see their campaign signs and know what party to associate them with. By Mark Stinson
 
There are plusses and minuses of changes in population and technology
[Sep. 9, 2014] This wish does not recognize the reality that Pittsboro shriveled to near death when the 'Label Plant' closed and the area had not yet experienced the economic boost from spillover from the Research Triangle Park. I don't know when thencphoenix was born or moved to Chatham County, but we all have to accept the plusses and minuses of changes in population and technology. By John Dykers
 
Entire hog farm industry is sitting on a gold mine of hog manureEntire hog farm industry is sitting on a gold mine of hog manure
[Sep. 9, 2014] I was one of the neighbors opposed to the hog farm being built just east of my home. At the time I told the builder that if he would live there instead of in Sanford, I would have no objections. He modified his plans, built the hog farm, and I have never smelled a whiff, and have not heard complaints from any other neighbors even closer than I. By John R Dykers
 
Jeff Starkweather's framily is suing Pittsboro over Chatham ParkJeff Starkweather's framily is suing Pittsboro over Chatham Park
[Aug. 26, 2014] Looks like the former leader of the Chatham Coalition hate group, Jeffrey Starkweather has filed a lawsuit against Chatham Park and the town of Pittsboro. According to the court filing, here is a list of Jeff Starkweather's framily that is suing Pittsboro over Chatham Park By Tom West
 
Record shows that Sally Kost believed one commissioner meeting per month would be better than twoRecord shows that Sally Kost believed one commissioner meeting per month would be better than two
[Aug. 24, 2014] From John Graybeal's Chatham Chatlist #5015 post: "One wonders whether these activities explain why these commissioners decided one meeting each month would be better than two." I've copied the minutes from the County BOC budget retreat on January 19th below. It's pretty clear who wanted the change. By Heather Johnson
 
The truth about arts funding in Chatham CountyThe truth about arts funding in Chatham County
[Aug. 23, 2014] I can appreciate that there is frustration that the Chatham Arts Council is not government funded. It's just that Brian Bock, Pam Stewart and Walter Petty campaigned and have governed on three guiding priorities: Public Safety, Education and Public Health. The Commissioners chose to fund a new women's shelter because our women and children in danger in Chatham County need a safe place to live when they are in crisis. We also needed to fund teachers in Chatham County. Did you know that Chatham County is the only county in the state to locally fund teachers due to shortfalls coming down from the state and federal government? If the commissioners didn't have strict priorities we wouldn't have this funding and our students would lose out. Education would suffer. By Heather Johnson

Page 1 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site