This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 1 of 46     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

Red people? Blue people? What's the difference?Red people? Blue people? What's the difference?
[Sep. 17, 2014] In my near 50 years one thing that has always been crystal clear is that red people are Republican, blue people are Democrats. The red or mostly red with white and blue elephant represents the GOP. The blue or mostly blue with red and white donkey, ass, mule, whatever you prefer to call it represented Democrats. These are two set in stone facts so when election times came candidates from either party would use either the symbol or color of their respective parties so voters would see their campaign signs and know what party to associate them with. By Mark Stinson
 
There are plusses and minuses of changes in population and technology
[Sep. 9, 2014] This wish does not recognize the reality that Pittsboro shriveled to near death when the 'Label Plant' closed and the area had not yet experienced the economic boost from spillover from the Research Triangle Park. I don't know when thencphoenix was born or moved to Chatham County, but we all have to accept the plusses and minuses of changes in population and technology. By John Dykers
 
Entire hog farm industry is sitting on a gold mine of hog manureEntire hog farm industry is sitting on a gold mine of hog manure
[Sep. 9, 2014] I was one of the neighbors opposed to the hog farm being built just east of my home. At the time I told the builder that if he would live there instead of in Sanford, I would have no objections. He modified his plans, built the hog farm, and I have never smelled a whiff, and have not heard complaints from any other neighbors even closer than I. By John R Dykers
 
Jeff Starkweather's framily is suing Pittsboro over Chatham ParkJeff Starkweather's framily is suing Pittsboro over Chatham Park
[Aug. 26, 2014] Looks like the former leader of the Chatham Coalition hate group, Jeffrey Starkweather has filed a lawsuit against Chatham Park and the town of Pittsboro. According to the court filing, here is a list of Jeff Starkweather's framily that is suing Pittsboro over Chatham Park By Tom West
 
Record shows that Sally Kost believed one commissioner meeting per month would be better than twoRecord shows that Sally Kost believed one commissioner meeting per month would be better than two
[Aug. 24, 2014] From John Graybeal's Chatham Chatlist #5015 post: "One wonders whether these activities explain why these commissioners decided one meeting each month would be better than two." I've copied the minutes from the County BOC budget retreat on January 19th below. It's pretty clear who wanted the change. By Heather Johnson
 
The truth about arts funding in Chatham CountyThe truth about arts funding in Chatham County
[Aug. 23, 2014] I can appreciate that there is frustration that the Chatham Arts Council is not government funded. It's just that Brian Bock, Pam Stewart and Walter Petty campaigned and have governed on three guiding priorities: Public Safety, Education and Public Health. The Commissioners chose to fund a new women's shelter because our women and children in danger in Chatham County need a safe place to live when they are in crisis. We also needed to fund teachers in Chatham County. Did you know that Chatham County is the only county in the state to locally fund teachers due to shortfalls coming down from the state and federal government? If the commissioners didn't have strict priorities we wouldn't have this funding and our students would lose out. Education would suffer. By Heather Johnson
 
Dead trees at Jordan Lake are an example of nature and human engineering at oddsDead trees at Jordan Lake are an example of nature and human engineering at odds
[Aug. 14, 2014] The dead trees at Jordan Lake are an example of nature and human engineering at odds. A “natural” cause if there ever was one. The area of which you speak is called a sub-impoundment. Several waterfowl sub-impoundments were constructed to replace the habitat and hunting opportunities that were lost when the reservoir flooded the Cape Fear River Basin. This sub-impoundment is connected to the main lake by a culvert that passes under highway 64 By Megan Lynch
 
Four Pinocchios! Former Chatham Commissioner Sally Kost is caught lying once againFour Pinocchios! Former Chatham Commissioner Sally Kost is caught lying once again
[Aug. 11, 2014] Former Chatham County Commissioner and Chatham Coalition member Sally Kost has exhibited a persistent habit of trying to redo the "truth" to meet her political agenda. In fact these attempts by Sally Kost to rewrite the "truth" have been going on for years. To paraphrase Jack Nicholas from "A Few Good Men" - Sally Kost can't handle the truth! By Tom West
 
Chatham Park can not be anything like a sequel to Research Triangle ParkChatham Park can not be anything like a sequel to Research Triangle Park
[Aug. 4, 2014] I do not really have an opinion about the Chatham Park development, as I know our rural, agricultural, and mostly bucolic county is already experiencing the indicators of ugly little developments all over the county that doom us to a future of identity-less suburban transformation. I prefer planned development, and just wish that our county leaders had developed a real land use plan of our own decades ago, instead of leaving it to the profit-makers who don't care as we do about the nature of the county or keeping its North Carolina flavor.
 
Political affiliation and surveysPolitical affiliation and surveys
[Aug. 4, 2014] Tom Glendenning, you are welcome to send me your survey of non-affiliated voters. But chances are good that the same impulses that lead me to not affiliate with a political party also inform my reluctance to complete a survey. Decades ago I was subjected to a well respected personality inventory. Many of the questions were of the type that asked if I would prefer to be a doctor or a carpenter. The only answer I could imagine to be close to the truth was “no.†That answer was not an option. By Al Cooke
 
Congratulations to Chatham commissioners for passing budget that does not raise tax ratesCongratulations to Chatham commissioners for passing budget that does not raise tax rates
[Jun. 18, 2014] Dear Brian Bock, Congratulations to you personally for such a well written post to the Chatlist, and to you and all the county commissioners for a budget paying for the most important matters, education, sewage, health dept. police, et al and keeping the tax rate from worsening for property owners. That, in itself, will attract new people, money, talent and business to the county, assuming this is desireable and inevitable! You have a difficult and complex and demanding task, and you do it well. By John R Dykers
 
Chatham Park was created as a legacy for the people of North Carolina
[Jun. 9, 2014] I have been following Chatham Park for about a year and I concluded that Chatham Park was created as a legacy for the people of North Carolina. The idea that the richest person in North Carolina, would need to take on the difficult path and public debate to create a Chatham Park, purely for financial gain, made no sense. I applaud the potential greatness this project can bring to North Carolina. I applaud the potential to show the world what great planning and design can be created. By Statler Gilfillen
 
Pittsboro Matters continues with scare tactics and bullying about Chatham ParkPittsboro Matters continues with scare tactics and bullying about Chatham Park
[Jun. 8, 2014] I was counting the people who were pro-park and my numbers came out at 40 for the Park, 25 against but would consider it with with changes, and five who say save the trees or no one should build. Where do you get two-thirds who support the eight conditions? I'm tired of reading your scare tactics and bullying. Some of your members are from the same group who opposed the four lane by scaring people saying Pittsboro will become desolate. The same group who said they didn't want the power plant in Chatham County so they moved it just over the Chatham County line into Lee County. By Donna Bianca
 
Let's pass a noise ordinance so no one can burp or fart because the sound offends someoneLet's pass a noise ordinance so no one can burp or fart because the sound offends someone
[May 3, 2014] There are sides to any issue but this one is close to me on both sides. I appreciate The Goathouse Cat Refuge for what it does for animals. I also am a big second amendment supporter. Let me voice my opinion carefully. I had a friend with a collie and a big furry orange cat who moved into New York for a years worth of training. The first week the dog didn't eat and the cat retreated into the closet from all the loud noises in the new environment. He had a small balcony and neither animal would even venture near the open door to peek out. He said the trains shook the building, there was occasional gunfire, cars back firing, construction noises and the roar of the city's inhabitants constantly moving. By Mark Stinson
 
Population of Chatham County doubled in the last thirty years and you were a part of that growthPopulation of Chatham County doubled in the last thirty years and you were a part of that growth
[Apr. 28, 2014] I find that you have eaten of the fruit of the last damn Yankee tree, and you wish to shut the door so no more may intrude. The fine people who welcomed me to Chatham 45 years ago were friendly, open and did not fear newcomers. That is the main reason I moved here. In the next thirty years, as I have said before, the projections of population growth for Chatham exceed the number of residents of Chatham Park. By Tom Glendinning

Page 1 of 46     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site