This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 8 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

How to measure a champion treeHow to measure a champion tree
[Feb. 27, 2013] Thanks, N.A. Booko, for your descriptions of trees that inspire you (Chatlist #4559). As you guessed, there is a standard method for measuring trees that are being nominated for champion tree status. You will find descriptions of the award categories and links to instructions on this Grand Trees of Chatham web page. By Margaret Tiano
 
Old wood houses fall apart. That is their nature.
[Feb. 26, 2013] Most of us who inherited old farms and farm houses do not have the financial ability to rescue them, nor do we care to turn family land over to developers who only want to make money with their ticky-tacky ugly sameness, or to wealthy outsiders who think they know better than we do what to do with our land. By Maclyn Humphrey
 
Finding answers about what Chatham County government is doing
[Jan. 8, 2013] I've actively followed county government for the last four years so I'm familiar with what resources are available and many of the issues that have been raised.That's why I'm making an effort to answer questions and point people in the right direction to find information for themselves.I'm getting a jumpstart on my New Year's Resolution to contribute more to the discussion. By Donna Kelly
 
Aqua NC approached Chatham County about long-term plans to purchase waterAqua NC approached Chatham County about long-term plans to purchase water
[Jan. 8, 2013] Aqua NC approached the county about long-term plans to purchase water from the county to supply customers in the northeastern portion of the county. The proposal was discussed at the November 19 Board of Commissioners work session. Aqua NC currently provides water to almost 900 customers in the county and also services about 2300 wastewater connections. They provide water and wastewater systems for developments. Some of their water is provided from wells but they also purchase some water from Chatham County and Pittsboro. If they purchase water from the county they are responsible for all necessary infrastructure required to tap into existing county water lines. By Donna Kelly
 
A new chicken processing plant in Chatham would produce a product most of us enjoy and jobs for many
[Dec. 10, 2012] We at one time each raised our own chickens to eat and lay eggs if we were lucky enough to have chickens. Harvesting one for Sunday dinner entailed catching it, chopping its head off with an axe or hatchet, using a block of wood for a chopping block, and doing this outdoors. Then the chicken had to be boiled to loosen the feathers which then had to be picked off the carcass. Usually the bird selected from the flock was an old hen who was no longer laying eggs well. The carcass was then boiled long enough to tenderize it, and it could then be cut into parts which might be fried and eaten. This was a special treat. By John R Dykers
 
Small post offices in Chatham County are at riskSmall post offices in Chatham County are at risk
[Nov. 1, 2012] We have a number of small post offices in Chatham - e.g. Bear Creek, Bonlee, Goldston, and Moncure. There may be others. I live in Moncure, where we have about 300 people getting their mail in post office boxes, and many more on two delivery routes. A lot of businesses in our area use our post office (we have excellent, friendly service at the window -- have since I've moved here in 1998), and so we have fairly high income in sales at the counter from people mailing things out of the post office. By Judy Hogan
 
Support of "green solutions" appears to be illogical and poorly foundedSupport of "green solutions" appears to be illogical and poorly founded
[Oct. 30, 2012] Mr. Kirkman's criticism appears to be illogical and poorly founded. I am sure that in some faction of liberal logic, it is sound. But since he are using only the two factors, "environment" and "jobs," to judge the alignment, the critique is short sighted and weak. By Tom Glendinning
 
Randy Voller is assuming liberties not provided to him as simply ‘chair’ of the Chatham County Democratic PartyRandy Voller is assuming liberties not provided to him as simply ‘chair’ of the Chatham County Democratic Party
[Oct. 30, 2012] Randy V0ller's demanding letter to Board of Education chairman David Hamm is so ridiculous. Rando is assuming liberties not provided to him as simply ‘chair’ of the CCDP. Not to tell Mr Hamm how to answer his question, but I suggest not just no, but HELL NO! By Karl Ernst
 
School board chairman slams Chatham Democratic party chairman, Randy VollerSchool board chairman slams Chatham Democratic party chairman, Randy Voller
[Oct. 22, 2012] The first email is from Randy Voller, Chatham County Democratic party chairman, to David Hamm, Chatham school board chairman. The second email is Mr. Hamm's response.
 
Tick bites are good candidates for overtreatmentTick bites are good candidates for overtreatment
[Aug. 27, 2012] Tick bites are good candidates for overtreatment, but good prevention is even more practical. (Overtreatment is here defined as before diagnostic signs or symptoms or test results are present.) Keep the ticks off you in the first place, and there are many sprays and simple techniques like tucking pants legs into socks and wearing light colored clothes and long sleeves so you can see the tick, and check yourself carefully after coming from an outdoor excursion. By Dr John R Dykers
 
Opting out of having your property sprayed with herbicides under your power lines
[Jul. 16, 2012] I have information to share about opting out of having your property sprayed with herbicides under your power lines. Herbicide spraying by the power companies is a huge problem. It is cost effective for them, but not cost effective for our communities, when we consider the impact on our groundwater, wildlife, companion animals, not to mention our children playing in freshly sprayed areas and our very health. The sprayers do not announce their arrival. It just happens. It alarmed and outraged me when I discovered a few months ago that landowners in N.C. and elsewhere are not legally recognized as having the right to refuse herbicide spraying on their property. By Lisa Neal
 
Good teachers do an amazing job and are not paid enoughGood teachers do an amazing job and are not paid enough
[Jul. 11, 2012] Just thought I would pop a little more info in about teachers, pay, etc. Having been married to a teacher (now an "ex" teacher) for years, and myself, having been involved with the education system. Yes, it is true that the on-site work day of teachers may be shorter than other "regular" jobs. Yet, the demands are amazing. The at-home, after hours work - grading papers, lesson plans, generating the curriculum, and reading the textbooks (please don't hand me a new one to read this year) - are all extensive. The after-hours meetings, sometimes on the spur of the moment, as well as required evening attendance at some events, is also an issue. By Steven Rogat
 
The problem with our public schools continues to be how the money is spentThe problem with our public schools continues to be how the money is spent
[Jul. 11, 2012] Let’s look at some facts about teachers' pay in North Carolina. Students are required to spend 185 days per year in classroom instruction. 365 days in one year equals 180 days teachers NOT teaching. Most workers deal with a work year of 261 days per year. Then you subtract holidays and vacation/leave. (When we have a leap year, most workers work an extra day. Teachers get an extra day off.) NC teachers work with a 10-month year. Most workers arrive at our place of work and spend eight hours plus time off for lunch (8.5-9 hours per day). By Michael Tucker
 
While citizens face financial hardships Pittsboro considers raising taxes and feesWhile citizens face financial hardships Pittsboro considers raising taxes and fees
[May 3, 2012] Well, here it is, the end of April. It seems like eons ago, but it was precisely two months ago, February 27th to be exact, when our illustrious elected (and non-elected) officials in our Town of Pittsboro, were so excited when the mid-year 2011-2012 Financial Report was given by the Town Finance Officer at the BOC meeting. By Linda Bienvenue
 
Do Chatham recycling center attendants treat the sites as their own private shopping centers?
[Apr. 20, 2012] What is going on here? I went to my local dump yesterday with my usual stuff plus a couple of used up small appliances. When I went to toss them into the appropriate bin, I noticed someone had thrown away a small serviceable router table.

Page 8 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site