This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 7 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

Individual Chatham County citizens can decide for themselves how to best spend their own moneyIndividual Chatham County citizens can decide for themselves how to best spend their own money
[Jun. 10, 2013] On budget matters, the previous Chatham County Board of Commissioners believed that and acted on the premise that government should throw money at problems in order to solve them. This management strategy is the reason for the upheaval in local and national politics, among other objections. And our country was suffering a deep recession. The stock market lost 50% of value on the DOW. That equalled the performance of 1929-30 and we were in bad shape. Our school fiscal support places us at 6th or higher in the state for student supplement. Yet our performance does not show the comparable result. So teaching is not a matter of money. It's a matter of quality and dedication. By Tom Glendinning
 
Links to more information about planned Chatham ParkLinks to more information about planned Chatham Park
[May 30, 2013] For those interested in the 7,000+ acre Chatham Park development here are a couple of links for more information. The development is located within Pittsboro's Extraterritorial Jurisdiction (ETJ) so all planning will be handled by the town of Pittsboro. This will be a long term project, probably taking at least 30 years to complete, so it will certainly change and adapt over that time. By Donna Kelly
 
Chatham Park will be a mark of excellence among North Carolina developmentsChatham Park will be a mark of excellence among North Carolina developments
[May 30, 2013] A recent Chatham Chatlist by Joy exhibits a shortfall in facts and the unfortunate uneducated views of the left. The Chatham Park will be a mark of excellence among North Carolina developments. It will employ more workers than Pittsboro and Siler City for approximately the thirty-five years required to build it. The wages offered will be whatever the contractors pay, not wages set by anyone in Preston Development Corp. By Tom Glendinning
 
You can do something to help feed hungry children in Chatham this summerYou can do something to help feed hungry children in Chatham this summer
[May 28, 2013] Did you know that 49.6% of Chatham County public school children receive free or low-cost meals at school because their families live at or near poverty level? Did you know that CORA Food Pantry has a program to provide food to these children during the summer? SNACK! (Summer Nutritional Assistance for Chatham Kids) will provide food for 1000 of these children this summer By Beth Budd
 
Determining non-profit funding in the Chatham County budgetDetermining non-profit funding in the Chatham County budget
[May 23, 2013] Usually the most emotional portion of the county budget discussion every year is the non-profit funding. I've watched this process be refined every year for a number of years now and doubt that many people understand the effort that goes into it. I don't envy the volunteers that review the applications since there are always requests for a lot more money than is available. I also respect county staff for continually working to improve the system to ensure that county funds are used as fairly and effectively as possible.
 
Percentage of Democrats drops in North Carolina and Chatham CountyPercentage of Democrats drops in North Carolina and Chatham County
[May 23, 2013] In the past three years, the Democratic party has lost about 6 percent of its voters. The Republican and Independent (unaffiliated) have gained that much, almost equally. The state roll of Democrats is at 43 percent of total registered, Republicans at 31 percent and Independents at 26 percent. By Tom Glendinning
 
Perry Harrison School is the right fit for my granddaughterPerry Harrison School is the right fit for my granddaughter
[May 15, 2013] With so many opinions flying about, of course there would be some about Perry Harrison, too. I have raised my children, and now have an eight year old grand daughter. She attends Perry Harrison as a second grader, and started there in kindergarten. She is excelling in all areas, and loves her school. By Regina Bridgman
 
Chatham EDC has taken the lead on developing a conceptual Land Use Plan for Chatham CountyChatham EDC has taken the lead on developing a conceptual Land Use Plan for Chatham County
[May 9, 2013] The Chatham Economic Development Committee (EDC)DC has taken the lead on developing a conceptual Land Use Plan for Chatham County.This is not a detailed, comprehensive plan, but rather a review of where we are now and four generalized scenarios for how the county might develop. By Donna Kelly
 
Siler City Relay for Life loses a long-term corporate sponsorSiler City Relay for Life loses a long-term corporate sponsor
[Apr. 12, 2013] My mom, Lynne Marley, has tied the Relay for Life purple bows for the past ten years (since 2003) to honor the memory of her brother, Edward Tilley, who died from bone cancer May 24, 2002. Over the years, a lovely woman named Betty Terry carefully collected the bows and gently delivered them to the volunteers, who sold them to the public. The bows have always been of top quality and absolutely beautiful. Anyone who knows my mom’s work knows she puts her heart and soul into making every bow. By Rita Marley-McKenzie
 
Heads Up Therapeutic Riding Center is closingHeads Up Therapeutic Riding Center is closing
[Mar. 14, 2013] I was very sad to learn today that the Heads Up Therapeutic Riding Center in Pittsboro is closing. It's a great program that has benefited so many people, children and adults alike. For anyone who is unfamiliar with them, Heads Up is a Path International premier accredited center which was formed here in Pittsboro in 1991. By Shirley
 
Come celebrate the Chatham County PTA Thrift Shop 30th anniversaryCome celebrate the Chatham County PTA Thrift Shop 30th anniversary
[Mar. 14, 2013] The Chatham County PTA Thrift Shop will be celebrating their 30th Anniversary the whole month of April. There will be daily specials and each Saturday from 10am-2pm there will be entertainment and drawings for prizes. There will be balloons for the kids at different stores starting with the Siler City store April 6, Pittsboro April 13 and Cole Park April 20. Please plan to come out and support the PTA Thrift Shops in this wonderful celebration.
 
Megasite in Chatham County was put together privatelyMegasite in Chatham County was put together privately
[Mar. 13, 2013] Karen Crowell drew some very odd conclusions from the article Gene posted on Saturday about the potential certified megasite in Siler City.The county will not be signing any contracts, securing any deals or luring any contracts away from neighboring counties.Here's a little more background on certified sites. By Donna Kelly
 
Just because a house is old does not mean it was built wellJust because a house is old does not mean it was built well
[Mar. 5, 2013] I spent a winter as a renter in one of those deteriorating old multi-generation, farm-family homes 20 years ago. I had buckets under the leaky places in the roof and the water would freeze overnight. You couldn't keep a candle burning for the drafts. By Karen Tiede
 
Harvesting wonderful materials from an old house
[Mar. 5, 2013] Perhaps there is another way, Maclyn Humphrey. You might join with us in making the land agriculturally productive. Don't know where your farm is or how many acres or what soil types or water sources etc. but by joining with us or other farmers nearby, you may be able to become productive. By John R Dykers
 
Saving a little bit of history
[Feb. 27, 2013] I want to thank Maclyn Humphreys for an excellent response to the discussion about old farmhouses. Every time I pass one of those abandoned old houses, often with a double wide in front, my heart breaks. By Lynn Hicks

Page 7 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site