This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 6 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

The focus should be on how to roll back government overreachThe focus should be on how to roll back government overreach
[Oct. 3, 2013] I gave specific examples of government overreach. I am not asking for help with my business or obtaining permits. I am not asking for help to do business with Chatham County. That ain't gonna happen! By Michael Tucker
 
Chatham County Manager Charlie Horne needs to retire
[Sep. 24, 2013] Thomas Jefferson said, "When government fears the people, there is liberty. When the people fear the government, there is tyranny." The attitude problem with Chatham County government “supervisors” comes from the county manager himself, Charlie Horne. You want specific examples? By Michael Tucker
 
Chatham Park should only cut what is needed to be cut for developmentChatham Park should only cut what is needed to be cut for development
[Sep. 24, 2013] I have been hearing, now several times, chain saws running in the land area depicted in development maps for Chatham Park, adjacent to the Haw River. I checked out one area and the larger hickories, oaks, and beech trees are being systematically removed, it appears, probably by the current (and maybe not final) landowner. Is this the inevitable Phase 1 of the typical development process, prior to final land transactions? By Wes Newell
 
Can we really blame the Chatham County staff?Can we really blame the Chatham County staff?
[Sep. 23, 2013] I spent 33 years in the private sector and eight years serving the entire executive branch of North Carolina state government and some of the judicial branch. One of my personal goals serving the taxpayers in North Carolina was to save the taxpayers my annual salary. (I was in the top 10% of salaried state employees.) I am very proud after eight years of service, total savings were $13.2 million. (I did not make that much! I exceeded my goal.) And then I went back into private service. By Michael Tucker
 
Do not burn old tires. They must be disposed of properly.Do not burn old tires. They must be disposed of properly.
[Sep. 23, 2013] Dr. Dykers did not burn his old tires. Burning was his intention back in the old days but burning is highly illegal today. You can get a $10,000 fine and jail time now.
 
We must find a way to roll back county rules and regulations when Chatham County employees overreachWe must find a way to roll back county rules and regulations when Chatham County employees overreach
[Sep. 23, 2013] We need local government. We need county government for day-to-day living more than we need the federal government. All government in America has become overreaching, intrusive, and crushing to taxpayers and businesses. The weight of the federal government is crushing all by itself. But let’s not get into that today. Let’s look at Chatham County government. By Michael Tucker
 
Will Guardians of Angels propose law to ban putting tutus on pigs?Will Guardians of Angels propose law to ban putting tutus on pigs?
[Sep. 18, 2013] Tom Glendinning, you sir, have gone ahead and done it. You have made the people at Guardians of Angels aware of a serious moral problem that plagues this county and needs immediate attention. This Crisis is too severe to take the time to educate people about the physical and psychological harm it may cause. Terry Dorsey and the Guardians of Angels group must act immediately and hammer the commissioners to pass a law that bans putting a tutu on a pig within Chatham County. By Tom West
 
Please don’t take Timmy’s dog away just because his parents can’t afford a penPlease don’t take Timmy’s dog away just because his parents can’t afford a pen
[Sep. 18, 2013] Now I have read more comments about dog tethering. Yes, the ideal would be to have a fenced in yard, with the fence rooted in concrete to avoid digging out, and the fence high enough so the dog cannot jump it, and the fence enclosing an area large enough for the dog to run freely. That said, I would like to have a swimming pool and a hot tub. But I can’t afford it.
 
Chatham County should not use ideal values in valuing either our cars or real property
[Sep. 11, 2013] Chatham County should not use ideal values in valuing either our cars or real property. It should be evaluated properly to begin with. It seems a waste of taxpayer dollars to hire more people to spend more time correcting values when residents complain. I shouldn't have to waste time every year telling them I drive a worn out car. By Marian Norton
 
Thank you from the Pittsboro First Sunday Artisan Fair
[Jul. 9, 2013] A big "Thank you" to all of you who came out to the Pittsboro First Sunday Artisan Fair this past Sunday. In addition we'd also like to send a huge shout out to all of our stores, vendors, and musicians for your participation. By Ira Planer
 
Some people would say Ms. Hales is lying for political advantageSome people would say Ms. Hales is lying for political advantage
[Jun. 25, 2013] Ms. Hales describes how the nominations for the Chatham Economic Development Corporations (EDC)occurred during the Board of Commissioners' meeting and wrote, quote: “Bock said he *couldn’t vote for an artist* ” Notice the use of stars in her summary instead of the traditional quotation marks. I believe Ms. Hales uses this notation purposely when attributing a quote to someone that did not occur. By Rich Felch
 
Broken Arrow Archery Club is seeking new membersBroken Arrow Archery Club is seeking new members
[Jun. 21, 2013] The Broken Arrow Archery Club is the oldest archery club in North Carolina and is beginning it's 50th year of existence. We have a shooting range located at the intersection of Mann's Chapel Road and Potyhress Rd in Chatham County, 14 stationary targets situated along a woods trail and several 3-D targets also available By Aaron Honeycutt
 
One person Sustainable Communities department cost Chatham County $195K per yearOne person Sustainable Communities department cost Chatham County $195K per year
[Jun. 18, 2013] I too am skeptical of anyone who tosses out numbers and have found it best to do my own homework to verify. Fortunately, we can check the figures that Chatham Matters (or anyone else) mentions as they are available on the county website in the annual budget. By Brad Johnson
 
Jordan Lake is not dying, nor the Haw RiverJordan Lake is not dying, nor the Haw River
[Jun. 18, 2013] As stated, the model environmental laws passed under Hunt, early 1980's, were not backed by budget to effectively manage enforcement. We now do have the Jordan Lake rules. They are not hypothetical or future. By Tom Glendinning
 
Child Care Networks and child care subsidy changes for Chatham CountyChild Care Networks and child care subsidy changes for Chatham County
[Jun. 13, 2013] Starting in July, Child Care Networks will no longer provide the child care financial assistance program that it has administered for many years under contract with the Chatham County Department of Social Services. Child care financial assistance (child care subsidy) will still be available to eligible families by contacting DSS directly. By Erin Suwattana

Page 6 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site