This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 5 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

Underwear in a wad over Chatham Park and BoJanglesUnderwear in a wad over Chatham Park and BoJangles
[Dec. 11, 2013] It is with interest that I have read that Chatham Park is still on the agenda for later voting. Since the issue was just "tabled", I am sure that is probably the status. It is also with interest that I have read about the "benevolence" of Mr. Goodnight. While I cannot speak about what he does or does not do, it is the "norm" for those who are millionaires or billionaires to give very large sums to various charities and to found charities and institutions. This is wonderful but also tax strategy! And this is probably the situation with Mr. Goodnight. By Jane Forbes
 
I have no business or other relationship with Marcus Thompson except that he owes me money
[Dec. 11, 2013] I am a local graphic designer and businessman licensed in Pittsboro. I have been in this business for 25 years. I appreciate Dwain Richie and the others that have come forth for their candor regarding dealings with Marcus Thompson. I too have had a similar experience with Mr. Thompson and know of several other individuals that have as well. By John Murdock
Also: John Murdock Design
 
Why do some folks feel they can dictate what everyone else does?
[Dec. 11, 2013] I have been watching the discussion about Chatham Park, Bojangles with interest and amazement. Why do some folks firmly believe their opinions are the best for everyone? Why do they feel they can dictate what everyone else does? I get so tired of some folks who feel the need to tell everyone else how to live, where to eat, what to eat, shop, work, etc. By Linda Allred Cooper
 
Randy Voller says goodbye to the Chatham Chalist communityRandy Voller says goodbye to the Chatham Chalist community
[Dec. 9, 2013] Dear Chatlist Community: I have been honored to serve Pittsboro for the past eight years. And although we have not always agreed on every issue, I have found it to be a great pleasure to meet so many of you in my travels around the region and service on behalf of the Town and our citizens. By Randy Voller
Also: Chatham Chatlist Highlights
 
Chatham Park is already our future
[Dec. 9, 2013] One can put land into a conservation easement or one can use the land he or she owns as one wishes, within the restrictions of local zoning or lack of zoning. It is apparent that the previous owners of each parcel of the land now owned by Chatham Park could have put it into a conservation easement in order to protect it from development and to reap other potential benefits as well.
This was not done. By Virginia Penley
 
Charity Park, NOT Chaps ParkCharity Park, NOT Chaps Park
[Dec. 9, 2013] While trails and horse stables sound oh so elegent (albeit environment impactful with trail erosion, horse manure pathogens and nitrogen, and nasty carbon footprint from affluent visitors pulling horse trailers), what happened to sensitivity to the needy, a Pittsboro/Chatham core value. By Drew Carson Sedlak
 
Fortunately, we have laws to protect property rights and our own monies from people like Jane ForbesFortunately, we have laws to protect property rights and our own monies from people like Jane Forbes
[Dec. 9, 2013] The people are coming here, like it or not. So Jane Forbes' solution is for Preston group to donate the land to a conservancy group rather than make a consolidated development for them and create jobs for Chatham taxpayers so they do not have to commute, spread the waste treatment all over the county in 120,000 septic tanks which will leak into the Haw and Rocky rivers eventually, create 120,000 wells which will lower the water table, on and on. By Tom Glendinning
 
When you can no longer see the stars, maybe you'll care tooWhen you can no longer see the stars, maybe you'll care too
[Dec. 9, 2013] Surely you understand the difference between a single homeowner being forced to rewire their home before selling it, and the wish to thoughtfully and effectively regulate a development that is going to increase the population of Pittsboro by tenfold? If you don't, then no one can give any credence whatsoever to anything you say. I cannot see what is wrong with wanting to make sure a development of this scope and magnitude is done in a way that protects the surrounding areas. It is going to forever change the face and demographics of Pittsboro and Chatham County. Wouldn't it make sense that we, as the current custodians of those places, make sure all citizens are protected? By Kathie Russell
 
It is obvious that opponents of Chatham Park and Bojangles don't understand businessIt is obvious that opponents of Chatham Park and Bojangles don't understand business
[Dec. 9, 2013] Once again, Jane Forbes assume incorrectly. I am not the franchisee, I just listened to the times both he and I were at the Pittsboro BOC meetings. This will be their seventh restaurant, and one he took great pains to have it match the local environment. Other than that, I don't know the gentleman or his company. By Jack Stevens
 
Jordan-Matthews Jets soccer team appreciates support of Pittsboro RoadhouseJordan-Matthews Jets soccer team appreciates support of Pittsboro Roadhouse
[Nov. 13, 2013] I wanted to take a moment to thank and recognize Greg Lewis, his family, his business and the Pittsboro Roadhouse and General Store for their generosity this season with the Jordan-Matthews High School Men’s Soccer team. By Paul Cuadros
 
We don't need miracles here, just people with a generous heartWe don't need miracles here, just people with a generous heart
[Nov. 11, 2013] This is my story, but it's also your story. Mark Goodnite is pretty familiar with this situation so any of his comments are welcome. I've been a carpenter since my 30's. Now retired and living in Pittsboro I volunteer for the Council on Aging - grab bars, safety rails, small repairs, leaky roofs, gutters - whatever needs fixing at home I usually can do for elderly people who can't pay the going rates the tradesmen and contractors are charging these days. No complaint, their kids want to go to college too. By Brad Page
 
Chatham population density growth will require some regulation of when and where folks can shoot their gunsChatham population density growth will require some regulation of when and where folks can shoot their guns
[Nov. 11, 2013] In response to Tom West's post on the November 4 Chatham Chatlist, I agree with my sister, Anne Kachergis, that here in northeast Chatham, the population is approaching a density that would require some regulation of when and where folks can shoot their guns. When our family moved to the property where my sister and mother live 44 years ago there was very almost never any gunfire in the neighboring woods. Of course there were not any deer either. By Karl G. Kachergis
 
Not sure what the problem is
[Nov. 5, 2013] In the Chatham Chatlist, Anne Kachergis wrote, "someone who lived on River Road, who lived directly across from Perry Harrison School, used to target practice with a gun. I understand he always shot away from the school" So what exactly is the problem Anne? I would hope that you wouldn't want them to shoot towards the school, would you? By Tom West
 
The term "slander" refers to defamation of character that is spoken, whereas the term "libel" refers to the written wordThe term "slander" refers to defamation of character that is spoken, whereas the term "libel" refers to the written word
[Oct. 8, 2013] Having been on the Internet for a very long time (I was a geeky child and in many ways still am) it's always interesting to watch how people react to some of the unpleasant things this wonderful technology brings into our life. As with most things modern, when people feel wronged they tend to, or at least think about, using the courts for satisfaction. If you decide to do this, please look like you did your homework and use the proper terms. The term "slander" refers to defamation of character that is spoken, whereas the term "libel" refers to the written word. By Tarus Balog
 
Offensive Chatham Chatlist posts, lawsuits and other c*apOffensive Chatham Chatlist posts, lawsuits and other c*ap
[Oct. 8, 2013] I have been guilty of making Chatham Chatlist posts on misinformation. I have offended people off and I have made people smile. I have made a fool of myself here several times. By Mark Stinson
Also: Chatham Chatlist Highlights

Page 5 of 47     1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site