This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 24 of 47     <<Previous 10 | 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 | Next 10>>

"Plenty" of questions"Plenty" of questions
[Jun. 8, 2009] Those were the key words right there Matt Rudolf, "Finally, if you REALLY cannot offload them Plentys may be exchanged for dollars at Capital bank (for a 10% loss)" By Robin Luker
 
Chatham County needs to consider composting as part of a potential landfill solutionChatham County needs to consider composting as part of a potential landfill solution
[Jun. 5, 2009] I address this issue as the founder of the NC Compost Council and the largest producer of compost in the state at one time (1988-1993) and someone whose corporate efforts were directed toward recycling before it became popular. The proposed landfill meetings should consider incorporating composting into any landfill proposal. By Tom Glendinning
 
Pittsboro Plenty is to be steadfastly avoidedPittsboro Plenty is to be steadfastly avoided
[Jun. 2, 2009] Mr. Rudolf's post about Antonella's choosing to not accept the Pittsboro Plenty is sweetly intimidating. I'm not surprised Antonella doesn't accept the Plenty. I wouldn't either simply on principle were I not retired and still in business. By Brad Page
 
Acceptance of the Plenty is not indicative of a business's commitment to the local communityAcceptance of the Plenty is not indicative of a business's commitment to the local community
[Jun. 2, 2009] I was disturbed to read the criticism regarding Antonella's and the fact that at this time, they do not accept Plenty as currency. I do not know Antonella, or anyone who works for her, as far as I know. I do not know anything about that business at all, really, except by looking at the website just now. But I do know how extremely difficult it is to keep a small business open at any time, but especially now, when money is tight for everyone. Anything that jeopardizes, or potentially jeopardizes cash flow for even a few days can be fatal to a small business. By Maclyn Humphrey
 
Antonella, the Plenty and irresponsible MattAntonella, the Plenty and irresponsible Matt
[Jun. 2, 2009] The Plenty is indeed a interesting social experiment propagated by your employer and a group of businesses affiliated with your employer. A leap of faith must be taken by all involved as their is no guarantee of their stated value, including yourself. You agreed to accept the plenty in lieu of real money, Antonella does not. By Calvin Oxendine
 
Antonella's has gained another customerAntonella's has gained another customer
[Jun. 2, 2009] Antonella's gained another customer here. Amazing as it seems, I posted early on with just this in mind. I was chastised roundly and informed that no one would be pressured to accept the "Plenty", and that it was "backed" by Capitol Bank, which turned out to be untrue. By Rusty McIntosh
 
Antonella's needs to accept the Pittsboro Plenty, or elseAntonella's needs to accept the Pittsboro Plenty, or else
[Jun. 1, 2009] Although I agree that Antonella's Salon is an excellent salon, I am frustrated by their refusal to take the Plenty. Last weekend I got a haircut there and when I gave my tip in Plenties I was informed that they were not accepted there. By Matthew Rudolf
 
Central Carolina Community College throws up roadblocks to registration
[May 22, 2009] May I ask if anyone else has had problems with Central Carolina Community College. Three times, my daughter or I have tried to sign up for classes and three times it has been a not so pleasant experience. By Dedrah Earles
 
Hunter seeks permission to hunt coyotes on your landHunter seeks permission to hunt coyotes on your land
[May 14, 2009] There have been a lot of people posting about coyote sightings. As at least one person has mentioned, coyotes are very dangerous animals and if coyotes are in your area and you have small children, please do not leave the children alone outside. By Dalton Hamilton
 
A modest proposal to learn from our history
[May 14, 2009] The danger of not knowing history, including the history of your own neighborhood and county, are considerably greater than simply repeating history and its misfortunes. Posts about the latest controversy--liquor by the drink--reminded me of this fact and suggested a modest remedy. By Wallace Kaufman
 
Capital Bank is NOT backing Plenty! Who is?
[May 12, 2009] “Capital Bank was approached by a group asking if we could be a currency exchange,” Cecil Walter with Capital Bank said. Visit the Pittsboro Penty web site and you will see that Capital Bank is only offering exchange services. By Tom West
 
Without deer control there will be no vegetables to put on the table
[May 11, 2009] At the risk of being vilified by vegans and animal lovers, I support any efforts to reduce the deer population. Keep in mind that without deer control, there will be no vegetables to put on the table. I have lost two years of garden and talked to many who have given up on gardening. By Tom Glendinning
 
Thank you Chatham for making ClydeFEST magic yet again
[May 3, 2009] "You can go to any city in America and find arts creating vitality in every neighborhood. Arts and culture is the genesis of the revitalization of communities." --Tom Murphy, Mayor of Pittsburgh. Mayor Murphy's statement rang powerfully true last Saturday at the Chatham Arts Council's ClydeFEST in Bynum. By Molly Matlock
 
Examining property tax revaluations
[Apr. 2, 2009] I worked in the tax department for almost two years doing property appraisals during the 2000 revaluation. The procedures for appraisal are codified in the state statute, and, as you surmised, are based on values for sales occurring before the crash because few sales occurred afterwards. So, the comparable values (sales) are stuck at a higher level than sales might be if properties were actually sold at today's values. By Tom Glendinning
Also: County budget info
 
Let's bring the Pittsboro Teen Center back to life
[Mar. 30, 2009] I have the legal records and related non-profit paperwork from an entity that was set up a few years back called the Pittsboro Teen Center. I think it would not take much to bring it back to life, and this is why I saved all the files in good order. They live in one of those indestructible portable plastic files waiting for their next use. By Claire Kane

Page 24 of 47     <<Previous 10 | 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site