This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 18 of 47     <<Previous 10 | 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 | Next 10>>

Shot of Spro is still the best
[Feb. 7, 2011] It may still be a bit chilly out these days but you must; I mean must...stop by Shot of Spro in Pittsboro and try their Peppermint Kiss Creamy. By Lynn Scott
Also: Shot of Spro
 
I am on the side of assigning children to school as close to their homes as possibleI am on the side of assigning children to school as close to their homes as possible
[Feb. 3, 2011] Balancing the integrity of "culture" and the understanding of "diversity" is not easy, and we should be kind to one another as we try to do so and save money at the same time. By John R Dykers
 
Have you gotten a visit from the Chatham County Zoning or Inspections departments?Have you gotten a visit from the Chatham County Zoning or Inspections departments?
[Feb. 3, 2011] I recently had a meeting with Brian Bock, the new Chatham County Commission chairman and the Economic Development Committee. This meeting was to discuss my visit of May 2010 from the zoning inspector and the subsequent meeting with the Chatham County commissioners. By Monnda Welch
 
Smaller K-8 community schools serve our children betterSmaller K-8 community schools serve our children better
[Jan. 27, 2011] It is important that everyone research the topic of school size. One would naturally think that less school buildings would cost less money. But when the increased dropout rates, transportation costs, security costs, administartion costs of schools over 1000 to 1200 students is investigated it actually costs less per student to have smaller community schools. By Dan Sundberg
 
Chatham County citizens feel blindsided by the Chatham County school redistricting planChatham County citizens feel blindsided by the Chatham County school redistricting plan
[Jan. 26, 2011] The Chatham County School administration is considering reconfiguring its K-8 schools, splitting the middle school grades off and sending the students to existing middle schools in the county, to go into effect for the 2011-2012 school year. By Reid Guthrie
 
Be an Eco Hero! Get out of the empty Pittsboro Express and get into a carpoolBe an Eco Hero! Get out of the empty Pittsboro Express and get into a carpool
[Jan. 16, 2011] Chris Garriss, I am happy to hear that you have been around for more than 60 years. Hopefully it means you are a man of some wisdom. I am not so happy to hear that you feel that you and about two or four or six other people feel that you are entitled to ride what is essentially a 40 passenger limousine service that taxpayers had to pay $360,000 for. By Tom West
Also: Chatham Chatlist Highlights
Also: Chatham Online Bulletin Board
 
Last word on my opinion about the empty Pittsboro Express busLast word on my opinion about the empty Pittsboro Express bus
[Jan. 16, 2011] Here's my last word on my opinion about the Pittsboro Express "Ghost" bus. I need my car for work and cannot ride the bus. I have to run errands for my work daily. When I lived in Chapel Hill, I did not own a car and used the transit system. Wasting fuel and natural resources? That bus running up and down the road all day with two to three passengers is the bigger waste than me driving my car to work. By Meg Miller
Also: Chatham Chatlist Highlights
 
Chatham County commissioners are no better than David DukeChatham County commissioners are no better than David Duke
[Jan. 16, 2011] The actions by the new County Commissioner majority were wholly political and an example of "get back atcha" politics where one party simply wanted some payback and a message sent that a new political wind was blowing. The new majority of Commissioners knew they had to stick to their campaign pledges of eliminating these three positions, especially the Human Relations executive position because they had been badgered to do so by their voting constituents who were angry and upset at the passage of the 287g immigration-law enforcement resolution by the previous majority. By Paul Cuadros
 
How about being constructive and sharing your observationsHow about being constructive and sharing your observations
[Jan. 16, 2011] On January 11, jkabreu wrote that "I attended the January 3 Board of Commissioners' morning meeting and subsequently read the "notes from that session" that were posted on the Chatham County Online bulletin board service. I am concerned about the biased nature of the referenced material. It does provide some facts from the meeting, but there are also some misrepresentations." Now, why don't you take the next step, and share your observations on the meetings with other people, by posting summaries here on the Chatham Chatlist? By Mia Munn
 
A big problem is getting to the Pittsboro Express busA big problem is getting to the Pittsboro Express bus
[Jan. 16, 2011] I am going to throw this out there for some consideration regarding the Pittsboro Express ghost bus. For those of us that do not drive, it would be marvelous, except for one fact: we have to get there initially. In my area, we are not serviced by Chatham Transit, so we can't get there to begin with to take advantage of the transit to Chapel Hill. By Deborah Bair
 
My thoughts on fixing watered down gasMy thoughts on fixing watered down gas
[Jan. 16, 2011] It's no secret we are getting screwed at the gas pump. If you have noticed your car isn't getting the mileage it did last summer and its running like crap, weaker, rougher and just plain bad. Grain alcohol is added to gas now as the winter mix formula. One thing everyone needs to know is that when you add ethyl alcohol to gas it doesn't burn as well resulting in less miles per gallon. By Mark Stinson
 
Missing the point about the Pittsboro Express ghost busMissing the point about the Pittsboro Express ghost bus
[Jan. 14, 2011] There's been a long list of attacks placed on this horrible government program of a transit bus from PBO to Chapel Hill. I would just like to point out the irony of folks on this list speeding up in the cars on their daily commute to look at the 'empty' bus, and of folks driving out to the bus stop to take photos of the 'empty' bus before they drive north to Chapel Hill to work. By Chris Jude
 
Playing catch up on the Chatham County landfill issuePlaying catch up on the Chatham County landfill issue
[Jan. 13, 2011] I am a member of a group of concerned citizens who live here in Chatham County. Many of us live in close proximity to the sites being considered for a landfill so we have a lot at stake in the recommendations that SWAC makes and in the decisions of the County Commissioners. The members of our group have been working very hard to educate ourselves about this issue but none of us are experts. We feel that the SWAC is already a number of steps ahead of us and seems to be on an aggressive time line so we are trying to play catch-up . By George Lankford
 
Local business will donate proceeds to Pittsboro Skatepark fundLocal business will donate proceeds to Pittsboro Skatepark fund
[Jan. 12, 2011] Adam Brinson of Window Wizard has a local window washing, pressure washing and gutter cleaning business and would like to donate 10% of his January revenue to the Pittsboro Skatepark fund. Please help us make the Pittsboro Skatepark a reality by supporting this local business. By Judy Orchard
 
Adios, ghost busAdios, ghost bus
[Jan. 10, 2011] I didn't vote for these new commissioners and I'm afraid of the Tea Party zealots, however, if I ride by that empty darn bus from Chapel Hill to Pittsboro one more time, I may change my affiliation. If they can reasonable cut spending, then I say let's give them a chance. Hands off the schools because they are just starting to get where they need to be after years of stagnation. By Meg Miller

Page 18 of 47     <<Previous 10 | 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site