This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > chatlist chatters

Chatlist Chatters

Page 17 of 47     <<Previous 10 | 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 | Next 10>>

What is going on here? I am puzzledWhat is going on here? I am puzzled
[Feb. 21, 2011] If you attended last week's public input session on the request of the Western Wake Partners (Apex, Cary and Morrisville) to run an 8.1 mile sewer discharge line across eastern Chatham, you would have heard the nearly unanimous opposition of the residents of southeastern and eastern Chatham. At the same hearing you would have heard representatives of these towns and other business leaders in Wake County tell Chatham residents that would be an economic boon to their communities. But you would not have heard any evidence of the benefits of this pipeline to Chatham County. By Jeffrey Starkweather
 
Life in Chatham County is goodLife in Chatham County is good
[Feb. 20, 2011] I think we all, whether liberal or conservative, have the same goals for our life in Chatham County. We live here because of the rural character and laid back life style. We live here because of the friendliness of the people. We live here because we do not want to live in a community of wall to wall sterile subdivision homes, all painted a shade of beige. By Marsha Derynck
 
Chatham Schools central office personnel gone wild?Chatham Schools central office personnel gone wild?
[Feb. 20, 2011] Posted for an anonymous teacher: I just have to get this off my chest and I don't know who to tell. I am already appalled to hear that numerous county office employees make six figure salaries (and no one knows what they do all day). By Tom West
 
Sam Cherry, property rights, Western Wake Partners and the Chatham County CommissionersSam Cherry, property rights, Western Wake Partners and the Chatham County Commissioners
[Feb. 18, 2011] There are two related issues. One is the legitimate public use (highways primarily) that run over private property and that is what money is for, to justly compensate the owner for losses incurred, including in some cases the need for relocation and sometimes a priceless loss such as family connection running back multiple generations. By John Dykers
 
Let's not repeat the mistakes of the past when discussing the proposed waste water pipeline
[Feb. 17, 2011] We do not have a Jordan Lake uptake station because the commissioners at the time had a prejudice against Chapel Hill which may have extended to any government outside Chatham, including the federal agencies involved in placing the lake here. The stated reason was that we did not need the water. By Tom Glendinning
 
Does Chatham County wish to oversee development within it's own borders?Does Chatham County wish to oversee development within it's own borders?
[Feb. 16, 2011] The post on the Chatham Chatlist #3954 by Caroline Siverson continues the scare tactics so prevalent among those that oppose this project. Let us get this into perspective.

The 8.1 miles of “effluent discharge” is totally incorrect. The pipeline will be carrying treated water, not effluent, that has been endorsed by the State and others as suitable for discharge into out Cape Fear River watershed and is of a quality that will not adversely affect any protected species in the waters. By Joe Kingley
 
What we care about is the value in our community schoolsWhat we care about is the value in our community schools
[Feb. 15, 2011] The negative postings about Mr. Logan and the accusations need to stop! If you wish to oppose the redistricting plan, please by all means do so, but please do so in a reasonable, intelligent manner. Hiding behind pseudonyms and allegations that border on hysteria are not helpful and will not persuade the Chatham County Board of Education to see your side of things. By Kathie Russell
 
Westen Wake pipeline opens up Chatham County to Cary annexationWesten Wake pipeline opens up Chatham County to Cary annexation
[Feb. 15, 2011] The Chatham County Board of Commissioners will held a public comment session at the February 7 meeting in Moncure, NC. I knew that several opinions would be expressed against the project, just as they were for improvements to US Highway 64. These opinions are equivalent to spitting into hurricane Fran when population growth and development are imminent and Chatham touts its pleasant rural lifestyle to newcomers. By Caroline Siverson
 
There are no savings in reorganizaing Chatham County schoolsThere are no savings in reorganizaing Chatham County schools
[Feb. 14, 2011] This is straight from the presentation for reorganization to be given Monday night. Have you priced a new gym lately or parking at $100 per space? How about renovating bathrooms or a new science labs? And the savings are not even going to come up to the $650,000 claimed as the reason to do the school reorganization. A new gym could be $1.5 to $2 million. By Dan Sundberg
 
Support, grow and improve our existing Chatham County high schoolsSupport, grow and improve our existing Chatham County high schools
[Feb. 14, 2011] Oh Jeffrey Starkweather, you remind me of me when I used to run around saying the sky was falling if we don't have a new high school in time for my kids. Now it's your grandkids. Wish I had taken a lot of that energy I used fighting for a new school and put it into improving what we have. I finally figured that one out. By Meg Miller
 
Don't use your lawyereze to twist my wordsDon't use your lawyereze to twist my words
[Feb. 14, 2011] Jeffery Starkweather, I never asserted, insinuated, inferred or suggested that Jordan Matthews or Chatham Central were inferior because of their size or any other factors. Don't use your lawyereze to twist my words. By Meg Miller
 
Most effective high schools have 600 to 900 studentsMost effective high schools have 600 to 900 students
[Feb. 14, 2011] I agree with Meg Miller that we should work to improve all our high schools so that every child has an equal opportunity to receive the education they need to compete for a good paying job and a quality life. I also believe that excellent schools make our county a place where companies with high paying jobs want to locate. By Jeffrey Starkweather
 
Keep northeast Chatham High School in the capital improvement planKeep northeast Chatham High School in the capital improvement plan
[Feb. 14, 2011] Below is the written version of my testimony in support of keeping the Northeast Chatham High School in the capital improvement plan presented during the January 18 public hearing before the Chatham County commissioners. Folks who also support this position need to contact write the county commissioners because this plan will be decided in the next several weeks. By Jeffrey Starkweather
 
More political doublespeak by Chatham Coalition chairman Jan NicholsMore political doublespeak by Chatham Coalition chairman Jan Nichols
[Feb. 10, 2011] I read this morning’s post in Chatham Chatlist #3947 by Jan Nichols with cynical amusement. The Chatham Coalition is “closing”. Jan then tells us that ”… the Chatham Coalition became a non-partisan political force……”, but later calmly advises us that “The Coalition encouraged candidates to run as slates, resurrected the practice of door-to-door canvassing, targeted precincts with mailings and phone calls, and urged voters to hold candidates accountable after the election. These tactics proved so successful they were adopted by Republican opponents in 2010”.
 
Julian Sereno's liberal approach to economics is illogicalJulian Sereno's liberal approach to economics is illogical
[Feb. 8, 2011] I really must comment on the column written by Julian Sereno, editor and publisher of Chatham County Line in the vol. 9, Issue 1 of February, 2011. His article is headed “Do Republican numbers really add up?” By Joe Kingley

Page 17 of 47     <<Previous 10 | 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 | Next 10>>

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Chatham Chatlist

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site