This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > opinion > columns

Columns

Page 3 of 7     1 2 3 4 5 6 7

GLAAD feeling backlash against their anti-Christian bigotryGLAAD feeling backlash against their anti-Christian bigotry
[Dec. 20, 2013] On Thursday, Bear Creek native and country music singer Charlie Daniels weighed in on the Duck Dynasty controversy. Daniels said it was a "sorry day in America" when A&E can indefinitely suspend Duck Dynasty patriarch Phil Robertson and trample on his civil rights for "expressing heartfelt religious opinions."
Also: The Robertson Family Official Statement
 
Correcting some errors in statements by SELC on Bonner BridgeCorrecting some errors in statements by SELC on Bonner Bridge
[Dec. 18, 2013] I want to correct some errors in statements made since the Bonner Bridge closure, particularly by plaintiffs’ counsel on this issue, that occasionally are reported as fact. In this case, plaintiffs’ counsel is the Southern Environmental Law Center, which represents Defenders of Wildlife and the National Wildlife Refuge Association. By Jim Trogdon
 
List of NC academics who used to call themselves 'progressive' until they realized it was bad public relationsList of NC academics who used to call themselves 'progressive' until they realized it was bad public relations
[Dec. 17, 2013] Formerly known as the Scholars for a Progressive North Carolina, before they realized it was bas public relations, the progressive Scholars for North Carolina’s Future group was formed in response to what organizers described as “the destructive course pursued by the state legislature.”
 
Voter fraud? Nearly 5,000 North Carolina voters still not verified eleven months laterVoter fraud? Nearly 5,000 North Carolina voters still not verified eleven months later
[Oct. 24, 2013] The Voter Integrity Project-NC, released a report on Wednesdaysuggesting that as many as 4,857 North Carolina voters in the November 2012 election may have abused the Same-Day Registration law in order to vote illegally and 2,253 of them were in Mecklenburg County.
 
Civitas Poll: Voters back developing NC natural gas resources
[May 19, 2013] The latest Civitas Poll shows that North Carolina voters strongly favor developing the state’s natural gas resources, including offshore reserves. The poll of 500 NC registered voters had a margin of error of plus-minus 4.36 percent. “Voters want to see North Carolina develop the natural resources lying right under our feet, or just off our seacoast,” said Civitas President Francis X. De Luca. “Legislators should heed these beliefs, and pay less attention to the scare tactics often used to block energy development.”
 
Chatham County Animal Welfare Conference on June 8Chatham County Animal Welfare Conference on June 8
[May 2, 2013] On Saturday June 8, we will hold the first county wide animal welfare conference. The purpose of the summit is to bring together as many of the animal welfare groups and individuals in the county as possible to discuss strategies to reduce and ultimately eliminate animal suffering in Chatham County. In addition to inviting non-profit groups and interested citizens, members of the county health department advisory committee, animal control and others are being invited. However, it's important to note that is not an official county sponsored event. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
I will do my part to protect the freedoms spelled out in the U.S. constitutionI will do my part to protect the freedoms spelled out in the U.S. constitution
[Feb. 13, 2013] There has been a lot of discussion lately in the community regarding gun and ammo sales at local retailers, specifically Wal-mart. Some have suggested that we, as a board of commissioners, should try to stop walmart from selling these items as a means of increasing public safety. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Transcript: 2012 second presidential debateTranscript: 2012 second presidential debate
[Oct. 17, 2012] President Barack Obama and Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney met in Hempstead, New York Tuesday evening, October 16, for the second of three presidential debates.
 
S. T. Wooten Corporation plant history and Chatham County
[Sep. 24, 2012] The S. T. Wooten Corporation plant on Sugar Lake Road in eastern Chatham County was installed around 1974 on a lease to Lee Paving Company. There were highway projects which justified this plant, including the US Highway 64 bridges crossing Jordan Lake circa 1980. At that time, there were no houses or developments on Sugar Lake Road and Sugar Lake itself was still a stone quarry operated by American Stone. By Tom Glendinning
 
A few comments about the 2012-13 Chatham County BudgetA few comments about the 2012-13 Chatham County Budget
[Jun. 28, 2012] On June 18 we passed the FY 2012-2013 budget. I want to touch on the highlights of the budget and make a few comments in areas that might need some clarification. To see the approved budget and a more complete summary please visit the county website. When the majority took office we pledged to make spending cuts, focus our spending on core functions, and raise taxes only as a last resort. We knew that by prioritizing dwe could increase spending in core areas without additional tax burden to the citizens. I'm pleased to say that the county staff has been able to once again prepare a budget that allows us to maintain our property tax rate at 62.19 cents. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
My vote on the Western Wake Partners pipelineMy vote on the Western Wake Partners pipeline
[Feb. 22, 2011] Like most decisions that the board of commissioners has to make, this one was not as straight forward as it might first appear. The decision to allow the Western Wake Partnerships to route the pipeline that will carry clean water from the New Hill treatment facility was made after careful consideration and deliberation. I realize many disagree with my vote. The answer for me came down to the fact that I believe this is best for the affected landowners and Chatham County as a whole. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Chatham County's budget reduction strategyChatham County's budget reduction strategy
[Feb. 22, 2011] During our county commission planning retreat earlier this month we discussed different strategies to reduce spending. We all agreed that an across the board spending cut was not the best approach. It's important that while we are working on spending reductions we simultaneously work to prioritize our spending. The result will be an overall reduction in spending but some services may receive an increase in overall allocation from the county. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
Did Chatham School Superintendent Logan issue a gag order on the issue of school reorganization?Did Chatham School Superintendent Logan issue a gag order on the issue of school reorganization?
[Feb. 14, 2011] On February 3, 2011 Chatham County Schools Superintendent Robert L. Logan issued a memorandum to all Chatham County Schools personnel outlining the proposed school system reorganization.
 
Chatham County Commissioner retreat recapChatham County Commissioner retreat recap
[Feb. 2, 2011] We wrapped up the second day of our three day commissioners retreat on Tuesday. (Final day will be on February 8). It was a very productive two days with most of the time spent discussing our priorities, the budget policy & process, budget reduction strategies, and the capital improvement plan (CIP). By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog
 
My vote on the Chatham County landfillMy vote on the Chatham County landfill
[Feb. 2, 2011] t our meeting on January 18, we voted to halt our efforts to identify a potential landfill in the county. I understand that we have a responsibility to deal with our trash but am not convinced that a landfill is the best long-term solution. Over the past 18 months the solid waste advisory committee has been studying various alternatives for us to dispose of our trash. We currently ship our trash to a regional landfill in Sampson County; an 81 mile drive. We all agree that this isn't the best long-term solution. By Brian Bock
Also: Commissioner Bock Blog

Page 3 of 7     1 2 3 4 5 6 7

 
Opinion

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Subscribe
Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist. Find out what your friends and neighbors are saying about what's going on in Chatham County.

Advertise
Promote your business at chathamjournal.com

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site