This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > news > law and order

Sheriff Webster holds annual Christmas party

Posted Friday, December 16, 2005

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Siler City, NC - Sheriff Richard Webster had his annual Christmas celebration recently at Best Foods in Siler City. He gave out several awards to officers for their accomplishments over the past year.

This year the Sheriff issued the Top Gun award to the officer with the highest average firearms score. The Physical Fitness award goes to the officer with the best time in the Police Officer Physical Agility Test. The Community Service award goes to the officer with the highest number of hours performing community service functions. Several Certificates of Meritorious Achievement were issued as well as Certificates of Appreciation. The Officer of the Year awards are given to a sworn officer and a detention officer. Officers of the Year are particularly special because they are voted on by their peers instead of being selected by the administration staff. Also, the award for most outstanding division was awarded to the Narcotics Division for their exceptional work over the past year.

Sheriff Webster stated that he is so grateful to have such a fine staff. “I couldn’t do this job without you”, Webster said to the audience. “I’m always getting compliments from the public about the great job you’re doing”.

Award winners were:

Sergeant Ken McDaniel - Officer of the Year
Sergeant Joseph Alston – Detention Officer of the Year
Captain Joseph Birchett - Top Gun
Sergeant J. D. Perry - Physical Fitness
Deputy Jynnifer Harrell - Community Service
Lieutenant Tracy Kelly - Meritorious Achievement
Sergeant Michael Szpunar - Meritorious Achievement
Corporal Steve Maynor - Meritorious Achievement
Corporal Tom D’Angelo - Meritorious Achievement
Deputy Jose Cruz - Meritorious Achievement
Deputy Jynnifer Harrell – Meritorious Achievement
Sergeant Bruce Coble - Appreciation Certificate
Deputy Rickard Bourke - Appreciation Certificate
Deputy Sean Szpunar - Appreciation Certificate
Narcotics Division- Unit Citation

Sheriff Webster, Joseph Alston, Ken McDaniel

Sheriff Webster with Detention Officer of the Year Joseph Alston and Officer of the Year Ken McDaniel.

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page

Free Classifieds

Got Feedback?
Send a letter to the editor.

Sign up for the Chatham Chatlist.

Promote your brand at

ChathamJournal Web

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site