This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > news > schools

Twenty Chatham County school teachers earn National Board certification

Posted Tuesday, December 21, 2010

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Pittsboro, NC - Twenty teachers in Chatham County Schools have recently earned National Board certification an increase over last year when six educators in the district did so. They are part of the newest group of educators across the state and nation to achieve the certification. A total of 8,639 educators nationally and 2,277 educators in North Carolina completed the process in 2010.

There are 91,013 National Board Certified teachers and counselors in the nation with 17,957 working in the state of North Carolina and leading the nation in the number of educators to be National Board Certified. Teachers in North Carolina receive a twelve percent pay increase with the completion of the certification.

National Board Certification is the highest credential in the teaching profession and participation is voluntary. Teachers achieve certification through a rigorous performance-based assessment that typically takes from one to three years to complete and measures what accomplished teachers and counselors should know and be able to do. As a part of the process, candidates build a portfolio that includes student work samples, assignments, videotapes and a thorough analysis of their classroom teaching. Certification is currently available to educators in 27 fields.

The newly National Board certified teachers in Chatham County Schools are:

  • Joseph Babyak
  • Nina Eddy
  • Beth Goldston
  • Dana Griffin
  • Ellen Hadley
  • Brandy Hutchens
  • Sonja Kitchings
  • Brittany Lasater
  • Debra Lasater
  • Amanda Long
  • Kelly Marshall
  • John McLean
  • Neal Morgan
  • Helen Motta
  • Avajan Oldham
  • Katie Palmer
  • Amy Phillips
  • Dwayne Phillips
  • Natalie Shaner
  • Sue Yencha
e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
Twenty Chatham County school teachers earn National Board certification
News Unofficial Chatham County Schools site

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site