This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > news > schools

Jordan-Matthews High School announces senior awards and student accomplishments

Posted Sunday, June 20, 2010

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Siler City, NC - Jordan-Matthews High School honored its seniors during an Awards Ceremony on the evening of Thursday, May 27 in the auditorium. Light refreshments followed the presentation of awards. Principal Ms. Norma Boone announced that the Valedictorian is Guile Contreras and the Salutatorian is Chelsey Evans. The evening began with identifying the 34 honor graduates.

To be considered an honor graduate, a student must have a cumulative weighted GPA of 3.6 or higher over their four years in high school. The honor graduates are: Caitlin Albright, Jessica Alexander, Evi Bonilla, Aubrey Bowers, Megan Bowers, Guile Contreras, Tatyana Davis, Krystal Duncan, Rubi Escalona, Chelsey Evans, Cesar Flores-Zagada, Luz Farfan-Munoz, Marshall Gurley, Angelica Gumucio, Katelyn Haithcock, Robert Hicks, Brittni Kidd, Stefanie King, Rebecca Lask, Hannah Martin, Luke Moody, Heather Moore, Ashley Myles, Victoria Navarro, Mauri Patterson, Luis Perez-De Paz, Eric Plata, John Pleasants II, Taylor Reneau, Gloria Rodriguez, Haley Seaton, Brittany Stephens, Katie Vestal, and Emilio Vicente.

Nineteen students were recognized as North Carolina Scholars. These students have an overall unweighted GPA of 3.5, have completed the college prep course of study, and have taken either Chemistry or Physics, a math beyond Algebra II, two years of the same foreign language, an arts education course, a career and technical education course, in addition to five elective credits that include at least two second-level or advanced courses. The NC Scholars are: Jessica Alexander, Evi Bonilla, Aubrey Bowers, Guile Contreras, Krystal Duncan, Rubi Escalona, Chelsey Evans, Luz Farfan-Munoz, Robert Hicks, Brittni Kidd, Stefanie King, Rebecca Lask, Luke Moody, Ashley Myles, Mauri Patterson, Luis Perez-De Paz, Taylor Reneau, Haley Seaton, and Brittany Stephens.

The math department awarded Chelsey Evans the Achievement in Mathematic Award. The science department awarded Guile Contreras the Achievement in Science Award. Mr. Fry presented Robert Hicks with the Outstanding Graduate in Vocal Music Award. Following the presentation of academic awards, the US Army presented Luis Perez-De Paz and Stefanie King with the Athletic Scholar Award. The US Marine Corps recognized Guile Contreras and Chelsey Evans for Scholastic Excellence, Desmond Cheek and Judy Manuel were recognized as Distinguished Athletes, and Christopher Dunn and Katie Haithcock were awarded the Semper Fidelis (Band Award).

The Class of 2010 applied for many local, state, and national scholarships. Their efforts were rewarded as the amount of monies offered to them totaled $1, 400,752.

Local scholarship recipients were: The Alpha Pi Scholarship was awarded to Brittni Kidd. In addition, she also received the Chatham County Retired School Personnel Scholarship. Robert Hicks received the Andrews Foundation Scholarship. He was also presented the Doris & Layayette Wrenn Scholarship, Jay Spence Memorial Scholarship, Van and Luella Thomas Scholarship, the Siler City Rotary Scholarship and the Chatham County Association of Educators. Christopher Dunn and Desmond Cheek received the Jay Spence Book Award. The Byron Sellers Scholarship went to Judy Manuel. The Chatham County Law Enforcement Scholarship was received by Tatyana Davis. The Chatham Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship was given to Ashley Myles. Aubrey Bowers was the recipient of the Chatham Training and Alumni Scholarship. Crossroads Snacks Scholarship went to Christopher Dunn. The Deputy John Roach Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Ciera McNeill. Tuli Hanner received the PTSA Scholarship. Tiffany Young and Ashley Myles received the Shawgo Memorial Scholarship. The Silk Hope ECA scholarship was awarded to Brittany Stephens. Hannah Martin received the Siler City Rotary Vocational Scholarship. Guile Contreras was presented the Wren Foundation Scholarship. The Silk Hope Ruritans presented scholarships to Stefanie King, Taylor Holden Taylor Reneau, Ashley Myles, Aubrey Bowers, Brittni Kidd, Casey Riggans, Gloria Rodriguez, Jessica Seagroves, and Katie Vestal.

State, regional, and national scholarship recipients are: Gloria Rodriguez and Emilio Vicente received the NC Hispanic College Fund Scholarship. Emilio Vicente also received the Nuestra Juventud. Guile Contreras received the Sam Walton Community Scholarship. The State Employee Credit Union’s “People Helping People” scholarship went to Katie Vestal.

Many of the students received scholarships, grants, and endowments from the colleges and universities. Central Carolina Community College awarded two scholarships. The Tech Prep Scholarship went to Eric Plata. Evi Bonilla received the Trustees Scholarship. Elon College awarded the John Duncan Shaw Scholarship to Taylor Reneau. The University of Richmond gave three endowment awards to Rubi Escalona, Victoria Navarro, and Luis Perez-De Paz. Angelica Gumucio received the Minaret Scholarship from the University of Tampa. Christopher Dunn received a grant form Mount Olive College. Auburn University awarded Stefanie King the Academic Heritage Scholarship and the Pulp and Paper Foundation Scholarship. Guilford College awarded Judy Manuel the Henry G. Hood Scholarship and the Dorothy Ragsdale McMichael Scholarship. In addition, Robert Hicks received the Eugene Hester Thompson Scholarship. UNC Chapel Hill awarded the James M. Johnston Scholarship to Guile Contreras and Emilio Vicente the Hickerson Scholarship. Campbell University awarded Jodeci Paige the Scott-Ellis Scholarship. Brittni Kidd was awarded the President’s Award from Randolph Macon College. Adriana Sandoval-Veliz received the Challenge Merit Award from Peace College.

On Friday, May 28, the seniors were honored before the school in a ceremony recognizing other student accomplishments. The Junior Marshals for the Class of 2010 are Rachel Daniel, Adam Godfrey, Alexandra Smith, Emily Burke, Ashley Andrews, Chesley Brooks, Hannah Brown, Amanda Clark and Maria Velazquez. Students who received all As each 6 weeks and on their exam for the 2009-2010 school year are David Arellano, James Edwards, Morgan Johnson, John Lindley, Taylor Reneau, Ethan Smith, and Nathan Woolard. Students with perfect attendance for the year are Kia Brewington, Kimberly Coble, Efrain Equivel-Esquivel, William Mitchum, Quincy Siler, and Elisha Teague. Other departments presented numerous awards to other students, including seniors detailing their many accomplishments and achievments.

"Jordan-Matthews High School, both faculty and staff, are proud of the Class of 2010. The students rose to many of the challenges of their academics and supported the school in many ways. May the Class of 2010 continue to dream and work towards achieving their many goals and endeavors," said Tammy Morris, school counselor.

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
News Unofficial Chatham County Schools site

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site