This website is accessible to all versions of every browser. However, you are seeing this message because your browser does not support basic Web standards, and does not properly display the site's design details. Please consider upgrading to a more modern browser. (Learn More).

You are here: home > news > schools

Chatham students successful in State Junior Beta competitions

Posted Monday, February 18, 2013

e-mail E-mail this page   print Printer-friendly page

Greensboro, NC - Schools from across the western side of Chatham County that have Junior Beta Club chapters recently participated in the Twenty-First Annual North Carolina Junior Beta Club Academic Convention and competitions held February 4-5 in Greensboro. Participating in the convention were students and advisors from Bennett, Bonlee, Chatham Central, Chatham Middle, J.S. Waters, and Silk Hope.

Many students from Chatham County Schools participated in competitions that ranged from academic events to artistic ones, some of which were for individuals while others were for teams of students or even entire chapters.

The Silk Hope chapter won first place in the living literature competition with its depiction of The Princess Bride.

The Bennett chapter won first place in the songfest competition.

The Chatham Central chapter placed second in the banner competition.

Tanner Henson, a freshman at Chatham Central High School who was a national winner a previous year in a visual art category, placed second in the special talent event with a Ragtime medley he played on the fiddle.

The National Junior Beta Club Convention will be held June 15-18 in Mobile, Alabama.

Several schools also shared additional information about their individual school chapter participation in the state convention:

Twenty-nine members of the Chatham Central High School chapter attended the convention. Michael Langone is the faculty advisor. Students participated in over twenty competitive events.

Nineteen members of the J.S. Waters chapter attended the convention. Chapter officers are Katherine Little (president), Jordan Harris (vice president), Layne Moore (secretary) and Chase Mashburn (treasurer). Staff advisors are Robbie Sirls, Autumn Oldham and Barbara Townsend.

Following is a list of competitions and student participants from J.S. Waters:

Living Literature Museum- Megan Oldham, Erin Staley, Katherine Little, Barrett Townsend, Iain McMillian, Taylor Huffman, Cameron Marsh, Layne Moore

Poetry--Alexa Wilderotter

Poster---Caleb Johnson

Quiz Bowl--Johnnie Cline,Hunter Wicker, Nick Oldham, Jordan Harris

Spelling Bee--Chase Mashburn

T-shirt--Alec Brafford, Kameron McNeill

Banner--Katherine Little, Erin Staley

Sketching Pastels--Rebecca Tysor

Wreath ---Katherine Little, Erin Staley

Woodworking-- Cameron Wiedholz

Sketching Pencil-----Iain McMillan

Sculpture--Erin Staley

Digitally Enhanced Photography--Cameron Marsh

Color Photography--Layne Moore

Recyclable Art--Barrett Townsend

Black-White Photography--Taylor Huffman

All 43 members of the Silk Hope chapter attended the convention. Chapter officers are Landin Eldridge (president), Michael DeCristofaro (vice president), Cassidy Jeffery (secretary) and Garrett Jourdan (treasurer). Faculty advisors are Michelle Hayhurst, Jennifer Jourdan, and Zachary English.

Following is a list of competitions and student participants from Silk Hope:

• Special Talent: Landin Eldridge, Michael DeCristofaro

• Arts-----black and white photography: Maddie Everwine

• Arts-----color photography: Gray Knight

• Arts-----digitally enhanced photography: Garrett Jourdan

• Arts-----oil or acrylics: Kayla Gunter

• Arts-----sculpture: Brenton Hart

• Crafts-----cross-stitch: Hannah Seitz

• Crafts-----handmade jewelry: Caitlin Hammer

• Crafts-----recyclable art: Kelsey Roper

• Crafts-----wreath: Morgan Troxler

• Leadership Workshop: Cassidy Jeffery, Addy Parker-Lewis

• Robert’s Rules of Order Workshop: Ashley Norfleet

• Banner Competition: Emilia Soto-Gallardo, Erika Nettles, Morgan Santiago, Guadalupe Vasquez

• Battle of the Books: Brenton Hart, Luke Gaines, Will Gaines, Michael DeCristofaro

• Living Literature Museum Competition: Abby Lewis, Morgyn Walters, Samantha Hollander, Jacob Dekaney, Noah Jordan

• Math Competition: Holden Harrington

• Multimedia Competition: Konner Williams, Alyssa Gaines, Cassie Rickman

• Poetry Competition: Caitlin Pike

• Poster Competition: Kye Vitaro, Keelan Bailey, Matthew Moody, Mayson Snavely

• Quiz Bowl: Seth Hayhurst, Michael Lavandowski, Michael Brannon, JJ Nelson

• Songfest: Sadie Lewallen, Caitlin Hammer, Paige Pongvanh

• Spelling Bee: Erika Nettles

• T-shirt design: Chris Brannon, Colby Suits, Luke Hargrove

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page
Chatham students successful in State Junior Beta competitions
News Unofficial Chatham County Schools site

Subscribe now: RSS news feed, plus FREE headlines for your site